Aug 20, 2014

Bout of Books Day 2 Update

Bout of Books

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 18th and runs through Sunday, August 24th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 11 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. 
- From the Bout of Books team

Updates

Second day of Bout of Books was as good as the first now. I spend arounf 6 hours reading. I have to idea how I managed to do that without my brain exploding, but I did! I finish 4 manga and the read the rest of Predator & Prey, 15 more pages. So here are my stats for Tuesday

Which of the books I read from today:Predator & Prey, Death Note vol.4, Death Note vol.5, Death Note vol.6 and Death Note vol.7
Number of pages I read today: 712
Total number of books I’ve finished: 8
Total number of pages I've read: 1310
Comments: So, more manga for me! Up until now every volume fo Death Note corresponded to episodes of the anima I've watched, from here on everything will be new. I can't wait to read more. Even though I will read a lot less today due to my homework schedule.

Aug 19, 2014

Bout of Books Day 1 Update

Bout of Books

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 18th and runs through Sunday, August 24th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 11 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. 
- From the Bout of Books team

Updates

I had a great first day for Bout of Books. I managed to read 36 pages of To The Blight, rigth after midnight. Then, I read Four Houses, all 35 pages of it. Then I started Predator & Prey but had to out it down after reading the first 15 pages of it because my boxset of the Death Note manga series arrived. So of course I started reading them. I read the second and thrid volume and then read more than half of the fourth one. So here are all my stats.

Which of the books I read from today: To The Blight, Four Houses, Predator & Prey, Death Note vol.2, Death Note vol.3 and Death Note vol.4
Number of pages I read today: 598
Total number of books I’ve finished: 3
Total number of pages I've read: 598
Comments: Since most of my reading was of manga, I am going to have to update my reading goals to 2000 pages. Other than that, I am really happy with all the reading I done for the first day.

Aug 18, 2014

Book Blitz: Redeeming Lainey by Kaitlyn Hoyt &GIVEAWAY


Redeeming Lainey
Release Date: 07/18/14

Summary from Goodreads:
When Lainey left the little farming town in Iowa on her eighteenth birthday, she thought she was finally free. She didn’t have to live in fear anymore wondering which day was going to be her last. For those two years, she was able to live in peace. She’d made a new friend, was going to a school she loved, and was setting the path for her future career.

That all changed with one phone call from her mother.

With the push of her best friend, Randi, Lainey goes back into the town she once promised was forever in her rear-view mirror. The dark memories of her past loom around every corner, and Lainey can’t seem to conquer the demons inside of her in order to fully move on.

Bryce, on the other hand, had moved on. During middle school and high school, Lainey was his best friend, and it tore him apart when she left with only a note. A simple note saying good-bye and have a great life.

Without his best friend around, Bryce’s life quickly spiraled out of control. He got into drugs, had some trouble with the law, and found himself partying a little too hard. Sweet Annabeth brought him out of that stage in his life, and ultimately saved his life.

With Lainey back in town, Bryce is at a loss at what do. She wants nothing to do with him or the town, but he is the only person who knows her full history and may be able to help her. Knowing that Lainey’s a flight risk, and with one wrong move, she’d pack everything up and leave again, Bryce steps out to help her find the one thing she doesn’t know she needs.

Redemption.


Available from:
Amazon US * Amazon UK * Barnes & Noble * iBooks * Kobo Books * Smashwords

Excerpt 

Lainey

“Don’t you want to smile when you look back on this time in your life and remember the ruggedly handsome fellow with the dark clothes, piercings, and random red streak in his hair who always hit on you but insisted he was only a friend?”
Even I can’t help but smile at him. “I guess that would be nice,” I tell him.
“Quit reading into things, ‘lil Lainey.”
“Quit calling me that.”
“Nope. It suits you.”
“We’ve already been through this,” I mumble, though it occurs to me that he just might be more stubborn than I am. Tyler crouches down next to the record player, grabs one of the records from the table, and gets to work putting it together. I watch his hands work, hoping I’ll be able to repeat the process when he’s not here.
“Exactly, so you should know you’re arguing a losing point. I’m going to keep calling you ‘lil Lainey,” Tyler says as he gently drops the needle onto the record. Neither one of us moves, waiting to see if it’ll actually work. It’s been sitting at the bottom of my closet for years, so there’s no telling if it’ll play anything anymore.
The record remains spinning, and after a few seconds we hear something. Tyler grins up at me when the rich orchestrated music starts playing. It still works. When Frank Sinatra’s voice starts singing, Tyler stands and walks over to me, his right hand extended.
“May I have this dance, ‘lil Lainey?”


About the Author
Currently a student at Ball State University, Kaitlyn Hoyt is pursuing her passion for writing while working towards a Wildlife Biology and Conservation degree. Vegetarian. Proud tree-hugger. Lover of comic book movies. Avid Reader. She has an unhealthy obsession for the soothing music of Josh Groban. She discovered her love for writing during the summer of 2012 and hasn’t stopped writing since!
Author Links:
 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png  photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png

GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blitz Organized by:

Aug 17, 2014

Cover Reveal: FINDING WILLOW by Michelle K. Pickett

Cover Reveal: 
FINDING WILLOW by Michelle K. Pickett
(An Unspeakable Novella)


Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Romance (Realistic Fiction) YAm
Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing
Release Date: October 2014

“Finding Willow” is the prequel to “Unspeakable,” the touching romance between Brody and Willow that explores one girl’s quiet strength to survive the unbearable weight of a family secret alone, and the love and resolve of a boy determined to help her.

Brody Victor lives life on the fringes. Moving from school to school with each transfer his mother’s job requires has taught Brody well: If there’s one thing harder than making friends, it’s saying goodbye to them. So he’s learned to close himself off. He’s a loner, and that’s how he likes it.

When his mother accepts a permanent position in Wisconsin, Brody begins to slowly open up. But old habits die hard and, for Brody, making friends doesn’t come easily. That is, until he meets Annabelle. Brody loses himself in her. Their connection runs deep and, for the first time, Brody truly lets someone inside. But life can be cruel. An unexpected job transfer uproots Brody from his home in Wisconsin, and Annabelle.

Vowing not to get involved with another girl after the heartbreak of losing Annabelle, Brody returns to life on the outside looking in. A loner by choice. Until the night he finds Willow. Friendly and beautiful, a guy can’t help but notice her, but Brody notices more than her beauty. When she flashes her full smile, a spark is missing from her hazel eyes and for reasons unknown to him, Brody needs to find the reason.

Along the way, he stumbles across a secret bigger than both of them.


SPECIAL FEATURE, Read FINDING WILLOW Early!

Finding Willow will also be featured in our CTP box set: WORLDS ENTWINED. This means you can get your hands on this novella as early as September 19, 2014 when this box set releases!



UNSPEAKABLE by Michelle K. Pickett


Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Romance (Realistic Fiction) YAm
Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing
Release Date: February 10, 2015


Goodreads Book Giveaway

Unspeakable by Michelle K. Pickett     

Unspeakable

by Michelle K. Pickett

Giveaway ends September 30, 2014.
See the giveaway details at Goodreads.

“Breathe. No one will break me. I’m strong. Breathe. Just breathe.”

On the outside, Willow appears to have it all. She’s beautiful, smart, from an influential family, and she dates the most popular guy in school—Jaden. But she would walk away from it all in a second. Willow is tormented by lies and suffocating guilt, not the hearts and flowers people believe her life is full of. 

She carries a dark secret. Plagued by nightmares and pain, the secret dominates her life. If she hadn’t walked away. If she had just… but she didn’t. And now she has to live with her choices. But when someone uncovers her family’s past, they use it against her, crushing her spirit little by little. She tells herself she just has to make it to graduation. Then she can leave Middleton, and her secret, far behind.

When Brody transfers to Cassidy High, he turns Willow’s life upside down. He shows her what it feels like to live again, really live. And suddenly, she isn’t satisfied with just surviving until graduation. She wants a normal life—with Brody—and he wants her. But the closer they become, the more it threatens to unravel the secret she’s worked so hard to hide.

Willow finds true love with Brody. Will she let his love save her, or walk away from him to keep her secret safe?

ABOUT MICHELLE K. PICKETT:

Michelle is the bestselling author of the young adult novel “PODs.” She was born and raised in Flint, Michigan, but now lives in a sleepy suburb outside Houston with her extremely supportive husband, three school-aged children, a 125 pound “lap dog,” and a very snooty cat.

Red Bull or Monster Khaos are her coffee of choice, and she can’t write without peanut butter M&Ms and a hoodie. A hopeful romantic; she loves a swoon-worthy ending that will give her butterflies for days. She writes across genres in the young adult and new adult age groups. She loves to hear from her readers.

Michelle signed her new young adult contemporary novel— Unspeakable, with Clean Teen Publishing in 2014. 

Keep up-to-date on her current and future projects at www.michelle-pickett.com.


 

More from Clean Teen Publishing:

 BE THE FIRST TO KNOW about our GIVEAWAYS, NEW RELEASES, COVER REVEALS and MORE! Join our VIP Mailing List



   

Showcase Sunday #39


Inspired by Pop Culture Junkie and the Story Siren, the aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders each week. For more information about how this feature works and how to join in, click here.
~Vicky @ Books Biscuits and Tea


Hello everyone! It's beens such a long time since my last SS. I've been staying at my hometown longer than I expected so most of the books I ordered are at my house, while I am kind of stuck here. But still I did buy a few this past week! So here they are:

Physical Books

E-Books
Tested by Janelle Stalder: I received this for review. It's the third book in her NewWorld series, which I am a huge fan of so I can't wait to pick it up.
Predator & Prey by  James D. Horton: The author provided me with a review copy. I haven't heard of it before but it a short story so it won't take much time for me to read and it sounds interesting.
Four Houses by Victoria Scott: I haven't read anything by Victoria Scott but all her books are on my whishlist. I thought this would be a good sample of what her writing style is like. Besides have you read the blurb? It sounds awesome!
Flame by Alicia Michaels: I've been waiting for this one to come out for a long time. I am so glad I got a review copy and that I am part of the tour. I need more Dax in my life <3

Those are all the books I got this past week. I will be reading most of them next week, during the Bout of Books read-a-thon. 
What books did you get? Leave me the link to your hauls in the comments and I'll make sure to drop by.

Aug 16, 2014

Cover Reveal: Helia’s Shadow Part One by K.C. Neal

Helia’s Shadow Part One by K.C. Neal 
(The Starlight Age Series #1) 
Publication date: Fall, 2014
Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult

Nineteen years ago, aliens arrived on a dying Earth with advanced technology and the promise of ensuring human survival in exchange for a place to settle. They were hailed as the saviors of humans and Earth.

Today, 16-year-old Helia wants two things in life: to step out of her over-protective mother’s shadow and become an engineer, and to stop hiding her romance with alien boy Kalo. But the world definitely isn’t ready for a human-alien romance. And worse, the human-alien partnership is crumbling. Humans are being arrested without explanation. Some of them are never seen again.

When the alien leader imprisons her mother on a false charge, Helia discovers the aliens never intended to help humans at all. Now, she must join forces with alien rebels and convince the young rebel leader that humans aren’t expendable. If she succeeds, humans have a chance at survival and she has a chance at love. If she fails, the dwindling human race dies out in slavery.

----

Watch for the Helia’s Shadow ARC on NetGalley in September! If you’re not on NG, sign up for K.C. Neal’s newsletter for a chance at a limited number of ARCs for non-NG reviewers (and giveaways, sneak peeks, and other goodies!).

----


AUTHOR BIO
K.C. Neal works in publishing and writes YA books. She likes to surf and hang out on sandy beaches, where drinks are served adorned with tiny umbrellas. When she's not taking tropical vacations, she paddleboards, reads, writes, gardens, watches too many things on Netflix, and tells her dog, Oscar, how adorable he is.

Author links:
http://kcneal.blogspot.ca/
https://www.facebook.com/KCNealFanPage
https://twitter.com/KCNealTweets
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5163997.K_C_Neal

Aug 15, 2014

Cover Reveal: Horror Business by Ryan Craig Bradford & GIVEAWAY

M9B-Friday-Reveal
Welcome to the Cover Reveal for

Horror Business by Ryan Craig Bradford

presented by Month9Books!
Be sure to enter the giveaway found at the end of the post!
horrorbusiness2
Armed with a passion for classic B-grade horror movies, a script co-written by his twin brother, and a wicked crush on his death-obsessed neighbor; hardcore horror fan Jason Nightshade must finish his student film.
But his plans are derailed when the children of suburban Silver Creek start disappearing – his twin brother among them. Battling a possessed video camera, a crazy zombie dog, a monstrous bully, and a frighteningly broken down family life, Jason embarks on a mission to find his lost brother so the two can write an ending for his story.
As any horror fan knows, saving the day won't be easy, as Jason finds himself forced to face the real world where death isn't just a splash of fake blood on a camera lens.
add to goodreads
Title: Horror Business
Publication date: February 2015
Publisher: Month9Books, LLC.
Author: Ryan Craig Bradford
Chapter-by-Chapter-header---About-the-Author
ryanauthorpic3-300x200
Ryan grew up in Park City, Utah. His fiction has appeared in Quarterly West, Paper Darts, Vice, Monkeybicycle and [PANK]. He currently lives in San Diego where he acts as Creative Director for the nonprofit literary arts organization So Say We All. He’s the co-editor of the anthology Last Night on Earth and founder of the literary horror journal, Black Candies.
Connect with the Author: Website | Twitter
Chapter-by-Chapter-header---Giveaway
Complete the Rafflecopter below for a chance to win!
(Winners will receive their book on release day)

Button