Feb 1, 2015

Book Blitz: Ever Darkening by Janeal Falor & GIVEAWAY


Ever Darkening
Release Date: 01/28/15

Summary from Goodreads:
Perfection. Goodness. Elimination of evil. It's what seventeen-year-old Kaylyn has trained her entire life to achieve. But no one is prepared for the consequences of her actually defeating all evil people on the planet. Finally successful in her mission, Kaylyn faces an unfamiliar world, full of good people doing good things, in which she no longer has purpose.

When the skies grow dark, and a stranger from another village pleads for her help, her instincts roar to life. It turns out their perfect world isn't exactly what it seems. Kaylyn's new quest, harder than any she's been on before, will rip apart her friendships, her life, and her soul more than any evil man ever managed to.


Buy Links:
Amazon | Kobo | SmashwordsBarnes and NobleCreateSpace

Excerpt:
Being the one chosen to kill the entire evil population is a burden heavier than sin. Not that I know what it’s like to sin, but I imagine this is worse. Killing is never taken lightly, even when sanctioned by our leaders, the same leaders who chose me to carry it out. I’ve lost count of how many Malryx I’ve executed for that exact reason. And now there is only one left. Only one evil being. My purpose of being is almost complete.


About the Author
Janeal Falor lives in Utah where she’s finally managed to live in the same house for more than five years without moving. In her spare time she reads books like they’re nuts covered in caramel and chocolate, cooks whatever strikes her fancy, and enjoys the outdoors. Her husband and three children try to keep up with her overactive imagination. Usually they settle for having dinner on the table, even if she’s still going on about the voices in her head.




Author Links:
    photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png

GIVEAWAY:
$50 Amazon Gift Card (INT)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Blitz Organized by:

Jan 30, 2015

Book Blitz: Courtlight and Crown Service by Terah Edun & GIVEAWAY

Courtlight and Crown Service by Terah Edun 
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

The Courtlight Series
When peasant girl Ciardis is chosen for a position at court, she travels across the empire to begin a new life. To survive, she’ll need to master intrigue, befriend a crown prince, and learn to control magical abilities she never knew existed.
The Crown Service Series
As an unstoppable war breaks out between the mages of the Algardis Empire, young Sara Fairchild enlists in the empress’s army to find out exactly what everyone’s trying to hide. But there are secrets on both sides of the battle that will make her question everything…

AUTHOR BIO
Terah Edun's next YA Fantasy novel, BLADES OF MAGIC - Crown Service Book #1 (set in the Algardis Universe), will release on March 31, 2014. Book Five of Courtlight, SWORN TO DEFIANCE, will release in April 2014.

Her favorite writers include Mercedes Lackey, Tamora Pierce, Kristin Cashore, Robin Hobb and Maria Snyder.

Check out Terah's author website (teedun.com) for more information about her books, find her online @TEdunWrites and subscribe to her newsletter (bit.ly/SubscribetoTerahsNewsletter) to be notified of upcoming releases.
Author links: 

GIVEAWAY




Blitz-wide giveaway (INTL)

  • Kindle Fire HD 6
  • PLUS every person who enters will get a FREE copy of BLADES OF MAGIC and SWORN TO RAISE audiobooks from Audible.com
a Rafflecopter giveaway

M9B: Friday Reveal: Gods of Chaos (Daughter of Chaos #2) by Jen McConnel & GIVEAWAY

M9B-Friday-Reveal
Welcome to the Cover Reveal for
Gods of Chaos (Daughter of Chaos #2) by Jen McConnel
presented by Month9Books!
Be sure to enter the giveaway found at the end of the post!
Gods of Chaos
The gods of chaos cannot be trusted.
When Darlena Agara declared to follow Red Magic last fall, she had no idea what she was getting into. Since then, however, she's had a crash course in danger, deceit, and destruction. In an effort to gain an ally, Darlena heads to Scotland in search of another Red Witch, but she didn't count on the new obstacles (and crazy gods) that await her.
add to goodreads
Title: Gods of Chaos (Daughter of Chaos #2)
Publication date: March 31, 2015
Publisher: Month9Books, LLC.
Author: Jen McConnel
Chapter-by-Chapter-header---About-the-Author
Jen McConnel
Jen McConnel now lives and writes in the beautiful state of North Carolina. When she isn't crafting worlds of fiction, she teaches writing composition at a community college. Once upon a time, she was a middle school teacher, a librarian, and a bookseller, but those are stories for another time.
Author Links: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads
Chapter-by-Chapter-header---Giveaway
Complete the Rafflecopter below for a chance to win!
(Winners will receive their book on release day)
Button

Jan 28, 2015

Book Blitz: False Finder by Mia Hoddell & GIVEAWAY


False Finder
Release Date: 01/13/15
Limitless Publishing
400 pages

Summary from Goodreads:
Cora has been able to detect lies since she was born, she’s…a False Finder.

However when blackmail, betrayal, and lying are all the population has to protect themselves, it makes her dangerous. It also makes her a target.

Because of Cora’s ability, Rogan Carvelli—London’s biggest criminal leader—has been trying to acquire her for years.

Cora has learned to survive and remain undetected—at least until one careless mistake causes her friends to betray her.

Sold to Carvelli, Cora is only left with the help of a secret organisation to escape. She knows nothing about them, but they have saved her too many times to ignore.

However, the closer she gets, the clearer it becomes…
Their motives are far from innocent.


Buy: 

Excerpt 

“Well? Are you going to take me to her or not?” Cora asked, getting frustrated as she cocked her hip out in annoyance.
“What’s your plan if I say no?” Rogan looked at his watch casually, which only irritated Cora more.
“You wouldn’t dare.”
Rogan shrugged nonchalantly in response, neither denying nor confirming her comment.
“You believe what you choose to believe.”
Before Cora could think it through, she snapped. Her fist went flying towards Rogan’s face quicker than she expected and she could do nothing to retract it.
Rogan lifted his arm to block her a split-second before the punch was about to land. Deflecting her blow, he diverted her fist to the side and using the momentum she had built up he gripped her wrist, spinning her around and pinning it behind her back. Leaning on the space between her shoulder blades, he shoved her body against the door, his six foot three frame towering over her.
“Don’t you ever try something like that again,” he said, his tone lowering to a dangerous level, his head close to hers.
“Why not? What are you going to do? It’s not like you can afford to lose me so I don’t have to worry about being disposed of like normal employees,” Cora shot back, trying to act more confident than she felt which wasn’t easy when she could smell the wood her face was pressed against.
There was a controlled power to the grip he had around her wrist. She could sense that he would only have to make a slight adjustment to his hold to be able to snap it like a twig.
“You may be of more use to me than the others but that doesn’t mean you’re untouchable. I only need you coherent and that leaves a lot of options, regarding pain, open to me. It’s in your best interest not to test me.”

About the Author
Mia Hoddell lives in the UK with her family and two cats. She spends most of her time writing or reading, loves anything paranormal or romantic, and has an overactive imagination that keeps her up until the early hours of the morning. 

By the age of nineteen, Mia had published nine books, including the Elemental Killers series and the Seasons of Change series. Since then, her books have charted on numerous Amazon Bestseller Lists, and she has also had poems published in a many anthologies. With an ever growing list of ideas, Mia continues to create fictional worlds through her writing, and is trying to keep up with the speed at which her imagination generates them.

She also designs book covers and banners on her website M Designs 

Author Links:
 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png

GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Blitz Organized by:

Jan 26, 2015

Book Blitz: Clarity by Loretta Lost




Clarity – The Complete Series by Loretta Lost 
Publication date: December 17th 2014 
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance

Synopsis:

This bundle contains all three books in the Clarity series:
Clarity 1
Her world has always been dark, but he might be able to change everything…
Fiercely independent Helen Winters was born completely blind, but she vowed never to let her disability keep her down. She did not expect a traumatic event to devastate her life and force her to drop out of college. Disillusioned by the cruelty of people, Helen retreated from society to live by herself as a reclusive writer in the woods–where no one could ever hurt her again.
When a brilliant young doctor shows up on her doorstep, promising her that his new research can give her the ability to see for the first time, Helen stubbornly refuses. She has learned not to trust anyone, and to rely only on herself. But Dr. Liam Larson will not take no for an answer. He makes it his personal mission to rescue Helen from her loneliness, and bring joy into her world once more–the joy she has denied herself for so long.
When Helen’s demons come racing back into her life, threatening to rip her apart and destroy the strength she has carefully rebuilt, Liam is the only one who might be able to save her. Can he reach the broken girl in time, helping her to heal and see the world in a different light? Or will Helen’s grief send her spiraling out of control, lost to him forever?
Clarity 2:
When violent memories come racing back, he is her only hope…
Helen Winters was living a lonely existence when the charming Dr. Liam Larson coaxed her out of solitude with the promise of healing her sightless eyes. She was hopeful at the prospect of gaining vision for the first time and being reunited with her family. She was also growing somewhat fond of the persuasive young doctor. For the first time in years, she was being magnetically drawn to a new friend…
Then everything came crashing down.
Plunged into a hellish nightmare, Helen is forced to face the same evils she ran away to escape so long ago. She is unprepared to have her hopes crushed and her peace destroyed. She finds herself living in constant terror and drowning in fear–and Liam’s voice is the only thing that can keep her afloat. His comforting touch becomes the only light in her pitch-black darkness. Helen has always been a tough girl who relied only on herself. But this time, she can’t survive alone. Due to the horrors of her past, Helen has promised herself not to trust anyone. When her life becomes unbearable, how can she trust Liam enough to let him save her?
Clarity 3:
After many years of darkness, Winter never thought that she’d be happy or safe again. Her whole world changed when she met Liam Larson, a charming young doctor determined to be her knight in shining armor. When a brutal night unleashes vicious reminders of her past, Winter must struggle to hold on to the little bit of happiness she has found.
When everything begins to fall apart, Liam’s strength and kindness might not be enough to save her. Battling with the betrayal of her family, terrifying nightmares, and frequent reminders of her enemy that make daily life difficult, Winter’s first instinct is to run away. She is tired of being the victim and living in a cruel, crowded city where she doesn’t feel like she belongs.
But Liam promises her that if she only trusts him, he can change everything. And that’s exactly what he attempts to do, starting with an operation to heal her eyes, and then her heart.
Purchase: 

Buy links for the first two books in the Judge Me Not trilogy:
--I Stand Before You (Judge Me Not #1):
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1BZ0Az0
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/i-stand-before-you-sr-grey/1118730233?ean=2940148368694

--Never Doubt Me (Judge Me Not #2):
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1DPIsJx
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/never-doubt-me-sr-grey/1119345975?ean=2940149463305



AUTHOR BIO
Loretta Lost writes for the same reason that you read: to experience all the love and excitement that can often be lacking from real life. She finds it therapeutic to explore her issues through the eyes of a different person. She hopes to have a family someday, but until then, her characters will do nicely.

Author links:



Cover Reveal: Crushed by Kasi Blake & TWITTER GIVEAWAY

Check out the cover for Crushed by Kasi Blake. Crushed is the first exciting release in a new young adult series called The Witch Game Novels. The Witch Game Novels are filled with mischief, romance, witchy games and trouble. Kasi Blake does an excellent job of capturing high school life and giving it a fun twist as told through the eyes of a teen witch. Enjoy this cover reveal and an exclusive excerpt. Plus, don't forget to enter the Twitter Giveaway!


TWITTER GIVEAWAY:

Tell us what you think of the cover or excerpt on Twitter by using #GetCrushedbyKasiBlake and @CleanTeenPub. One lucky winner who tweets using this hashtag will receive a bookmark prize pack from Clean Teen Publishing. A random winner will be chosen on February 5, 2015!


ABOUT CRUSHED:

Release Date: August 4, 2015
Genre: Young Adult
Series: The Witch Game Novels
Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing

The Noah girls have beauty, powers, and brains.
They use all three to play their games.
They blow the dust,
the boys are crushed,
and no one is ever the same.

Each year the Noah girls play a secret game— Crushed. The rules are simple.

1. Use wisdom to pick your target. The boy can't be too weak or too strong-willed. 
2. Blow the enchanted dust into your target's face to enchant (Crush) him. 
3. Give verbal commands and assign them tasks to perform throughout the year. The more tasks completed, the stronger the witch's power grows. 
4. At the end of the year, the witch with the most power wins cold, hard cash. 

As if being a witch in high school isn't complicated enough, Kristen picks the wrong boy to Crush. Zack is tall, handsome, and a little scary. Her Crush spell isn't working on him like it has with the others. In fact, he is behaving the opposite of every other boy she's Crushed, hating her instead of adoring her. Something is definitely wrong. After someone attempts to kill her, Kristen realizes there is more at risk than a few hundred dollars. She may be betting with her life.

READ AN EXCLUSIVE EXCERPT:




She wanted his jacket? 

Zach blinked at her, completely thrown by her softly spoken command. The little witch had obviously lost her mind. He didn’t like for anyone to touch his jacket, let alone wear it. It had been the last gift his mother had given him before she died. Kristen Noah could pry it out of his cold, lifeless fingers if she wanted it. He certainly wasn’t handing it over to her like an idiot. 

He’d planned to play along with her silly game, but now he didn’t think he could. He wasn’t going to pretend to date her. She was taking things a little too far. If she continued to push, he was going to push back. 

Gina spoke in a loud, cutting voice. “You are not dating Bevian, you total loser. What a joke! He wouldn’t touch something like you with gloves on.” 

“He is my boyfriend!” She looked directly at Zach, locked eyes with him, and repeated the command. She seemed to be trying her best to keep it from sounding like an order, but that’s exactly what it was, and they both knew it. “We can let everyone know we’re together now, be a real couple just like we talked about. Give me your jacket.” 

There was COVER REVEAL: CRUSHED by Kasi Blakea quiet desperation in her wide eyes along with a heavy fear that made him think of Morgan. That was the only thing about this girl that reminded him of his sister. For the first time he noticed Kristen Noah—really noticed her. She wasn’t his type, not really, but there was something extraordinary about her. 

Her golden hair fell over her shoulders in soft waves and it shimmered in the sun, producing a halo effect around her head. She had wide, generous lips that seemed to curve at the ends in a secretive smile even when she wasn’t happy, and her eyes seemed to change color with her moods. At the moment, they were a stormy grey, dark like a thundercloud. 

Then there was her body. 

Her sisters were too skinny for his taste, but Kristen had nice curves exactly where they should be. He wondered what it would feel like to hold her close and kiss her. She had a reputation for being tough as leather when it came to the opposite sex. The girl could take care of herself. Would she want to dominate the kiss or would she melt like ice cream on a hot day? 

What was he thinking? 

Kristen Noah was the most selfish, heartless witch he’d ever stumbled over. There was no way he was attracted to her. She played games with people’s emotions. He was a firm believer in ‘what goes around, comes around.’ The universe should be ready to take her down a notch… and if not, then he would be glad to help the universe out. 

Everyone stared at him, obviously waiting for him to confirm or deny. 

All eyes were on him, forcing him to make a quick decision. 

Zach shrugged out of the jacket. He would play along… for now. He walked around Kristen Noah and placed the jacket on her shoulders. Then he continued around until he was standing in front of her. Taking both sides of the jacket in his hands, he pulled them together. 

She stared at him with wide, unblinking eyes. The distrust in them was like a neon sign. She had expected him to blow her dreams apart. In fact, she still seemed to be waiting for him to pull the proverbial rug out from under her. 

She’s waiting for me to smack her down, he thought with a tinge of satisfaction. He wished he could do it, flatten her on the spot, but Morgan’s face floated through his mind. He had to protect his sister no matter what it cost him. 

“It looks good on you.” He almost choked on the words. 

Relief stole over her features. “Thank you.” 

“No way,” Gina said, shaking her head. “I don’t believe it. This is a set-up. No way have you been dating him without everyone in the school knowing about it.” 

Kristen shrugged as she snuggled close to him, arm around his waist. She relaxed against his side and played her part to the hilt. A smug smile parted her lips. “I guess we’re better at hiding our feelings than most.” 

Left without a choice, Zach draped an arm around her shoulders as if he’d done it a million times. He hated giving into her. The arm around her showed they were together, but his hand dangled on the other side rather than touch her. It was a small display of rebellion, one he was sure no one would notice. 

The crowd had grown to about a quarter of the school. Several students began to text the juicy news to their friends. Others blatantly started calling people. A few used their camera phones to take pictures of Kristen in Zach’s arms. She smiled for the photos. 

Zach didn’t smile. His jaw tightened instead. There were grenades exploding inside of his stomach. If he didn’t squelch his temper fast, a massive quake would turn the parking lot into a giant sinkhole. He took a few deep, slow breaths. His hands itched to rip the little witch’s head off. She was going to be very sorry she’d picked him to mess with. 

Gina’s eyes reluctantly shifted to Zach. He recognized the fear and awe in her gaze. It was the look he’d worked hard to receive from his fellow Titan Warriors. She swallowed, obviously uncomfortable in confronting him, but her notorious hatred for Kristen pushed her to the extreme. Last year he’d watched this girl make problems for the little witch, and he had secretly cheered her on. They were on the same side, but he couldn’t let that show. 

“When did this happen?” Gina asked. She stared straight into his eyes, demanding answers. “Why do you glare at her all the time if you’re dating? It doesn’t make any sense. Why would you date her when you only date older women? What is so special about her?” 

Kristen Noah is a witch! The words waited at the back of his throat. He wanted to shout them at the top of his lungs. Hands clenched, he took another deep breath. It would be so easy to let go and yell the accusation, but then someone would alert the council. Witches weren’t accused that often these days. They’d become geniuses at hiding in plain sight. So when it happened, the council demanded every last detail. If he accused her of being a witch, the council would discover his secret, and Morgan would die. 

Even if it cost him his sanity, he had to keep his mouth shut. 

He hit Gina with a hard glare, turning his fury on her since he couldn’t blast Kristen with it. The dark-haired girl folded in an instant. He imagined she was remembering the stories about him blowing up houses and killing people. Her survival instinct won out over her hatred for Kristen. 

She stormed off without another word. 

Zach’s murderous stare went to the spectators. Laughter died. Smiles faded. The kids scattered like cockroaches at night when the light is turned on. Unfortunately that left him alone with Kristen, his arm still around her shoulders. What now? What was he supposed to do in order to keep up the charade? How would an ‘enchanted’ boy act under these circumstances? 

Kristen sighed, a wistful sound. She rested her head against his shoulder for a moment. The small token of intimacy pushed him over the edge. He couldn’t do it. There was no way in hell that he was going to be nice to this little witch. 

He stepped aside, and she lost her balance. She almost fell. Almost. When she looked up at him with a question in her eyes, he grabbed the jacket sleeve closest to him and gave it a vicious yank, stripping the jacket off her in one quick motion. 

She gasped. 

He walked away, leaving her to stare after him while mentally giving himself a point on the invisible scoreboard in his mind. Bevian-1. Noah-0.

ABOUT KASI BLAKE:

If you ask Kasi Blake how old she was when she started writing, she will probably say twelve. That's when she wrote her first short story. But it started long before then. Her first characters were invisible friends she played with as a child. In the third grade she wrote a one-page story about a mummy for an assignment, and the teacher read it to the class. Even though she was embarrassed, the other kids laughed in all the right places, and she realized she could affect other people through her writing. She loves to get lost in emotional stories, crying and laughing with the characters, so she thinks it's the most amazing thing in the world to be able to do this for other people.

Kasi is a hardcore Supernatural fanatic and practically has the shows memorized line for line. If you want to see her freak out, tell her you've never watched an episode. Then be prepared to listen to a long list of reasons why you should. In her spare time, when she's not reading or writing, she does nail art, engages in day-long shopping trips with friends, and takes care of her many animals.

Originally from California, she resides in the Midwest on a farm with cows, chickens, ducks, a dog, and two cats.

Want to READ MORE from Clean Teen Publishing? 



Check out our huge selection of amazing reads! There's sure to be something for every reader!

 BE THE FIRST TO KNOW about our GIVEAWAYS, NEW RELEASES, COVER REVEALS and MORE! Join our VIP Mailing List

   

Jan 25, 2015

Showcase Sunday #44 - January 2015


Inspired by Pop Culture Junkie and the Story Siren, the aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders each week. For more information about how this feature works and how to join in, click here.
~Vicky @ Books Biscuits and Tea


Welcome to the first SS of the year. Hopefully this year I can control my buying insticts and finally reduce my huge TBR pile. It's over 200 books, so it's not even funny anymore. I don't have any specific resolutions for buying books but I want to reduce my physical TBR pile to 150 books. Hope I can manage that.

So, for the month of January I bought 7 books, 1 audiobook and received one more book for review. So 9 new books added to my TBR which is not that bad. Trust me, I struggly everday to stop myself from getting more, it could have been so much worse. Well, here are the books:


A Few Words:

More John Scalzi books! I've read Old Man's War at the beginning of the month and loved everything about it, so I went ahead and bought Fuzzy Nation and an audiobook of Redshirts, narrated by Wil Wheaton (his voice is perfect for sci-fi or pretty much any book)! 

Then I bought a couple of huge fantasy books, The Red Knight and Empire in Black and Gold, that I am not really sure what they are about. I only know that people loved them and it's very easy for me to love a good old fantasy book, so it was an easy decision. 

I also got Soulless, which is a Steampunk book that everyone pretty much loves. I am a huge fan of Steampunk but haven't read as much of it as I would like. Soulless seems the perfect start to a series.

I bought Shadow Kiss, book 3 in the Vampire Academy series. Even though I was a bit dissapointed by the end of the second book, I am willing to give this one a try. But if I don't like it as much as I want to, this will be the end of the series for me. 

Another book I got, even though I wasn't a big fan of the first one, is Spirit and Dust. I am glad that this one is about different characters and setting from the first book and that Daisy is making a comeback. Hope this one will be more fast-paced than the first one.

Finally I got two ebooks, Between was on sale and it sounds really great and I received Playing Hooky for review, also a book that sounds great for me. I will probably start reading Playing Hooky by the end of this month and I will share my thoughts with all of you.