Jul 28, 2014

Bout of Books 11 Sign Up

Bout of Books

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 18th and runs through Sunday, August 24th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 11 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. 
- From the Bout of Books team
Finally, the time has come again for another Bout of Books read-a-thon. This is one of my favorite read-a-thons, mainly because there are so many participants, so many new bloggers to interact with and so many new books to learn about. So, once again I will be taking part in it. Hopefully this time I will hit my gola of 1000 pages. My goals will be posted closer to the Bout of Books start date.

Book Blitz: Strange and Ever After & GIVEAWAY


IFB is hosting the promo tour for the third and final book in Susan Dennard's steampunk, zombie trilogy. Continue below for a sample and a cool giveaway.

17902141
Strange and Ever After
Series: Something Strange & Deadly #3
Release date: July 22nd 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Purchase: Amazon | B&N

Synopsis via Goodreads:
In the conclusion to the trilogy that Publishers Weekly called “a roaring—and addictive—gothic world,” Eleanor Fitt must control her growing power, face her feelings for Daniel, and confront the evil necromancer Marcus...all before it’s too late.

He took her brother, he took her mother, and now, Marcus has taken her good friend Jie. With more determination than ever to bring this sinister man to justice, Eleanor heads to the hot desert streets of nineteenth-century Egypt in hopes of ending this nightmare. But in addition to her increasingly tense relationships with Daniel, Joseph, and her demon, Oliver, Eleanor must also deal with her former friend, Allison, who has curiously entangled herself in Eleanor’s mission.

With the rising dead chomping at her every move and Jie’s life hanging in the balance, Eleanor is convinced that her black magic will see her through to the bitter end. But there will be a price. Though she and the Spirit Hunters have weathered every battle thus far, there will be consequences to suffer this time—the effects of which will be irreversible. And when it’s over, only some will be able to live a strange and ever after.

Susan Dennard will leave readers breathless and forever changed in the concluding pages of this riveting ride.

Susan DennardAbout the Author
Susan Dennard is a writer turned marine biologist turned writer again. Strange and Ever After is the conclusion to her trilogy, which includes A Darkness Strange and Lovely and Something Strange and Deadly. Among the traits she shares with her heroine Eleanor are a weakness for Shakespeare quotes, a healthy appetite for baked goods, and an insatiable curiosity. Sadly, Susan does not get to wear a corset or wave a parasol on a daily basis.



The Complete Series
---------------------------------------------

a-dawn-most-wicked-a-something-strange-and-deadly-novella something-strange-and-deadly a-darkness-strange-and-lovely strange-and-ever-after

 







Jul 27, 2014

Cover Reveal: Clean Teen Publishing Boxed Sets & GIVEAWAY

THREE AMAZING COVER REVEALS AND THREE AWESOME GIVEAWAYS! 

Clean Teen Publishing and Crimson Tree Publishing have both been growing by leaps and bounds. With so many amazing best-selling authors and award-winning books, they decided to create three new digital boxed sets to feed your reading addiction. These boxed sets will include multiple full-length novels, excerpts and sneak peeks at upcoming releases and more! Check out these stunning stories and make sure to enter the giveaway at the bottom! Three winners will be chosen for some amazing prize packs including a $10 Amazon gift card! 



Nothing is as it seems in Worlds Between. There are places where hunger can't be contained and telepathy is possible, where the afterlife brings about more adventure than the living can handle, and sometimes employers might just bite.

Worlds Between features six novels from bestselling authors. Dive into these paranormal worlds that will have you reaching for the safety of your covers and reading well into the night. Check out more about the included stories below: 


Wicked Hunger by DelSheree Gladden


Born with an insatiable hunger for pain and suffering, Vanessa and Zander Roth struggle to hide the truth of who they really are. Keeping their secrets becomes even harder when Ivy Guerra arrives and stirs their hunger into a frenzy. Will their need to feed on others’ agony turn them into villains, or can they somehow find a way to become the heroes of their own dark story?


Haunting Zoe by Sherry D. Ficklin


Logan woke up with a big problem. He’s extremely dead. No one from his former life seems able to see or hear him, making his afterlife little more than a nightmare. That is, until his funeral, when the bitterly sarcastic Zoe, a friend from his childhood, calls him out at his own wake. Now his only chance at moving on means dealing with his sordid past—and the girl he never really got over.


The Mind's Eye by K.C. Finn


A girl with a telepathic gift finds a boy clinging to his last hope during the war-torn climate of 1940s Europe. Kit Cavendish has psychic powers that allow her mind to travel to places her disabled body cannot follow, so when war breaks out across Europe, curiosity gets the better of her. The Mind's Eye is a story of personal triumph and young love set against the harsh realities of life at war.


Reluctant Guardian by Melissa J. Cunningham


She's dead, and would give anything to have her life back. He's alive, but demons conspire against him. Can two lost souls save each other from destiny? Death is nothing like Alisa thought it would be. Rather than peaceful rest, she must become a guardian to Brecken, a dark and dangerous rebel, who hides a terrible secret. When feelings develop between them, everything spins out of control.


Kindling Flames by Julie Wetzel


Fresh from college and with no real work experience, Victoria Westernly considers herself lucky to land the coveted position of personal assistant to Darien Ritter, the CEO and owner of a multibillion-dollar company. His busy schedule and eccentric ways are enough to keep her on her toes. But, all is not what it seems when she discovers the handsome man employing her just happens to be the most powerful vampire in the area. 


And sneak peeks from Aftermath by Sandy Goldsworthy, Hidden Monster by Amanda Strong, The Awakener by Amanda Strong, The Eye of Tanub by M.E. Cunningham, Angus MacBain by Angela J. Townsend and River of Bones by Angela J. Towsend. 





Love can be many things in Worlds Entwined. It's a place where the fate of a kingdom can rest with an unlikely princess, the sea holds more than just dreams, and a heart can be mended amidst a tragedy. While fairytales are few and far away, Worlds Entwined will be sure to keep your blood pumping and your heart fluttering through to the very last page. 

Worlds Entwined features five novels from bestselling authors. Dive into these romantic and light fantasy worlds that show love is cruel, painful, sweet, wonderful and inspiring. Worlds Entwined is sure to keep you reading well into the night. Check out more about the included stories below: 

The Key by Jennifer Anne Davis 

Prince Darmik's kingdom is on the brink of upheaval and at the center is a girl who could be the key to its undoing. When given a choice, will he choose love or the kingdom he swore to protect? Rema's an ordinary girl with an extraordinary past… All she wants is to be free. But it comes at a price. She is forced to accept the proposal of a cruel prince, even though she loves another… his brother. 

Rumors by Erica Kiefer 

Seventeen-year-old Allie Collins would rather hide behind rumors than face the truth—her life will never be the same as it was before the accident. As a star athlete grieving in the shadows, she hopes to find normalcy in boys and basketball. When her best friend sets her up with the popular Shane Moretti, Allie drags her feet, reluctant for added complications. Then she decides that dating Shane would be the perfect shield from last summer’s tragedy. However, what starts as a mere distraction proves much more complex. As Shane leads Allie into questionable situations, gossip continues to swirl. 

Never Forgotten by Kelly Risser 

Life tasks a drastic turn for Meara Quinn. Her mom’s cancer returned, and they are moving to her mom’s childhood home in Peggy’s Cove. Meara has never met her grandparents and doesn’t know much about her mom’s childhood. Dreams of her dad help her realize that all is not as it seems. With her new boyfriend, Evan, and his sister, Katie, she embarks on a journey to discover who—or what—she is. 

Rising by Holly Kelly 

Sara is a criminal with a death sentence hanging over her head, who is being stalked by the deadliest assassin in the sea—only she doesn’t know it. Xanthus’s job is simple. All he has to do is break into her apartment and slit her throat. If only she weren’t so beautiful… so innocent. Will he do his duty and slay her, or will the executioner become the protector, and the hunter become the hunted? 

Finding Willow by Michelle Pickett 

Finding Willow is the prequel to Unspeakable, which will be releasing in 2015. This touching romance between Brody and Willow explores one girl’s quiet strength to survive the unbearable weight of a family secret alone, and the love and resolve of a boy determined to help her. 

And sneak peeks from Queen of Someday by Sherry D. Ficklin, Sweet Contradiction by Peggy Martinez, and Moonflower by Angela J. Townsend.



It’s a fight for life in Worlds Undone. The only way to live through these post-apocalyptic times is to stand up against authority, hone in on special gifts, and learn to control the elements. In these stories of survival against all odds, heroes will rise and the evil ones will fall; and amidst the darkness, they might just find hope and love.

Worlds Undone features five novels from bestselling authors. Dive into these dystopian and apocalyptic worlds that will keep you rooting for hope and reading well into the night. Check out more about the included stories below:


The Woodlands by Lauren Nicolle Taylor


In Russia, after a race war has decimated the planet, the Superiors who control the compounds of the Woodlands are obsessed with creating a ‘raceless’ race, convinced it is the only way to avoid war. Collecting troublemakers for use in their high-tech breeding program, they should have lifted the claw when it passed over sixteen-year-old Rosa’s head. She is strong. She is loved. She will fight.


Project ELE by Rebecca Gober and Courtney Nuckels


With millions dying each day from a brutal heat wave, fifteen-year-old Willow relocates to a government shelter—where chaos, romance, and strange new powers await her. A must-read doomsday saga with nearly 100 five-star Amazon reviews! 


Concealed in the Shadows by Gabrielle Arrowsmith


Sydney will escape with her sister if they’re denied the right to be together. Chip implants, the electric barrier, and the interest of two opposing forces amplify the danger. Can she trust the side she fights for? Can she receive unexpected love? When her sister's life is jeopardized, she’ll have to weigh new love against the only one she has known. The cost could be deadly. How will she choose?


The Bionics by Alicia Michaels


All I wanted was to be a normal girl. But the nuclear war that laid waste to our country killed any hope I had. They took everything, including my humanity. I’m now half-human, half-machine, part of the freak show that is the Restoration Project. They hate what they created, fearing us for being strong. What they don’t know is—there’s a Resistance and The Bionics aren’t going down without a fight.


Wind Warrior by Jon Messenger


Xander’s simple life is turned upside down when he discovers he’s the newest Wind Warrior, a race of supernatural men and women who control the air. However, they’re not alone and as their time comes to an end, the Fire Warriors grow more and more eager to claim the planet as their own. 

And sneak peeks from The Last Orphans by N.W. Harris, Wolves of the Northern Rift by Jon Messenger and Voodoo Moon by June Stevens. 

ENTER TO WIN SOME AMAZING PRIZES: 

First Place: $10 Amazon Gift Card and a CTP Prize Pack (Includes Readers choice of any 2 Digital CTP Books, Bookmarks and Swag.) 

Second Place: Readers choice of any 2 digital CTP books and a SWAG Pack (bookmarks, bracelet, fun.) 

Third Place: Readers choice of any CTP Digital Book.



Want to READ MORE from Clean Teen Publishing? 

Check out our huge selection of amazing reads! There's sure to be something for every reader!
BE THE FIRST TO KNOW about our GIVEAWAYS, NEW RELEASES, COVER REVEALS and MORE! 

   

Jul 26, 2014

Book Review: The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien


The Hobbit
by J.R.R. Tolkien

Finally the day has come where I picked this book up and actually read it. I regret nothing! The Hobbit is a beautiful tale, filled with adventurous, new lands and races. Bilbo Baggins leaves his quite life in Bag-End behind in order to join 13 dwarves in their journey to get their long lost gold back, from a vicious dragon. This is of course not they only adventure they will get themshelves into until reaching the end.

"This is a story of how a Baggins had an adventure, and found himself doing and saying thinhs altogether unexpected. He may have lost the neighbours' respect, but he gained - well, you will whether he gained anything in the end."

I have no words to describe how much I loved this book, but I might as well try. First of, Tolkien's writing is a work of art by itself. So beautiful and poetic. It makes you fall in love with the story immediately. It is kind of hard to read through, definitely not a fast read, but such a great masterpiece.

But beware, if like me you have watched the films first and then go into this book, you are in for a big surprise. This is exactly like the movie but also nothing like them. The main plotline is the same but all the little details and fights and even some characters never appear in the book. Which was kind of sad, because I loved the movies so much. But once you accept that this is a fairytale book, a book that I personaly would have loved to have read growing up, you are in for a life-changing trip.

Jul 25, 2014

Cover Reveal: Fire in the Woods by Jennifer M. Eaton & GIVEAWAY

M9B-Friday-Reveal
Welcome to the Cover Reveal for

Fire in the Woods by Jennifer M. Eaton

presented by Month9Books!
Be sure to enter the giveaway found at the end of the post!
FireInTheWoods.v6-Book1-Final
When a plane crashes in the woods near Jess’s home, the boy of her dreams falls out of the sky—literally. But David’s not here to find a girlfriend. He’s from another planet, and if Jess can’t help him get back to his ship, he’ll be stuck on Earth with nothing to look forward to but the pointy end of a dissection scalpel.
But her father runs their house like an army barracks, and with an alien on the loose, Major Dad isn’t too keen on the idea of Jess going anywhere. Ever. So how the heck is she supposed to help the sweetest, strangest, and cutest guy she’s ever met?
Hiding him in her room probably isn’t the best idea. Especially since her Dad is in charge of the squadron searching for David. That doesn’t mean she won’t do it. It just means she can't get caught.
Helping David get home while protecting her heart—that’s gonna be the hard part. After all, she can't really fall for a guy who’s not exactly from here.
As they race through the woods with Major Dad and most of the U.S. military one breath behind them, Jess and David grow closer than either of them anticipated. But all is not what it seems. David has a genocide-sized secret, and one betrayal later, they are both in handcuffs as alien warships are positioning themselves around the globe. Time is ticking down to Armageddon, and Jess must think fast if she's to save the boy she cares about without sacrificing Earth—and everyone on it.
add to goodreads
Title: Fire in the Woods
Publication date: September 2014
Publisher: Month9Books, LLC.
Author: Jennifer M. Eaton
Chapter-by-Chapter-header---About-the-Author
Jennifer M. Eaton
Corporate Team Leader by day, and Ranting Writer by night. Jennifer M. Eaton calls the East Coast of the USA home, where she lives with her husband, three energetic boys, and a pepped up poodle.
Jennifer hosts an informational blog “A Reference of Writing Rants for Writers (or Learn from My Mistakes)” aimed at helping all writers be the best they can be.
Beyond writing and motivating others, she also enjoys teaching her dog to jump through hoops—literally.
Jennifer’s perfect day includes long hikes in the woods, bicycling, swimming, snorkeling, and snuggling up by the fire with a great book; but her greatest joy is using her over-active imagination constructively… creating new worlds for everyone to enjoy.
Connect with the Author: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads
Chapter-by-Chapter-header---Giveaway
Complete the Rafflecopter below for a chance to win!
(Winners will receive their book on release day)

Button

Jul 22, 2014

Book Blitz: Deep In Death & GIVEAWAY



Deep in Death – Release Blitz
A Shelby Nichols Adventure – Volume 6
Paranormal Mystery
Date Published: July 22, 2014

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png
  
Running “errands” for her mob-boss employer, Joey “The Knife” Manetto, often ends with Shelby in trouble, making her cautious about continuing her association with him. Instead, she focuses on a new client who hires Shelby to find her missing mother. What seems like a routine case turns into something more sinister and deadly than she ever imagined. In the meantime, Uncle Joey has summoned Shelby to his office, where she runs into her former nemesis. Shelby inadvertently hears something that makes her fear for the lives of Uncle Joey and his hit-man, Ramos. This time, Uncle Joey is not sure he wants to involve Shelby in something he knows could get her killed. Keeping Shelby’s involvement to a minimum has disastrous results, sending Shelby on a dangerous path. As her investigation unfolds, Shelby finds death at every turn, and soon realizes she is in over her head. Can she escape from danger in time? Or will she find herself deep in death?



EXCERPT

A twinge of pain burned through my arm, and I gently rubbed the spot where I’d been shot nearly three weeks ago. Getting a shot in the arm may sound like a simple thing for most people, but when it’s done by a bullet, it’s a whole different story. At least it was healing nicely, and the scar wasn’t too big, but every once in a while my arm ached like it had happened yesterday, probably because I was overdoing it again. After a few seconds the pain subsided, and I finished pulling on my shirt and got dressed.
Today was my first day back at work since the shooting, and I was ready to take on a new project. This time the job was a client from my consulting agency, which suited me just fine. My last job for Uncle Joey, the local mob-boss, had gotten me both arrested for murder and shot by a bullet in the arm, so I was a little nervous about doing anything for him again.
A few months ago I had to tell Uncle Joey my secret that I could read minds so he wouldn’t kill me. We’d worked out a compromise, and over the course of our association, we’d even become close. Crazy as it sounded, I’d started to think of him as my real uncle, even though he wasn’t. Since most of his errands seemed to get me into trouble, he’d also saved my life a few times. Well, to be honest, it was his hit-man, Ramos, doing most of the saving. But it was Uncle Joey who’d told him to watch out for me.
I sighed every time I thought of Ramos. He had a troubled past which only I knew about, and I’d helped him come to terms with it. Besides saving my life several times, there was also a physical attraction that I only dared admit out loud to my best friend, Holly. Of course after seeing him, she had a crush on him too, and since we were both happily married, I had to think it was all right. But with all of that going on, I had to wonder about myself. I mean, Uncle Joey was a big, bad mob-boss who had threatened to do me bodily harm, and Ramos was his hit-man. They were the bad guys and I had a soft spot in my heart for them. Was something wrong with me?
My husband, Chris, had no qualms about severing all ties with Uncle Joey, and it put me in a hard spot trying to please them both. But since the last job, things had changed. After I got shot, Chris had a long talk with Uncle Joey, and I hadn’t heard from him in three weeks. In some ways it was a relief, but in others, I kind of missed him…and Ramos…well…mostly Ramos. Still, I wasn’t about to call and offer my services. Not considering what had happened last time. Nope. I wasn’t ready to get shot again. In fact, I would be pretty happy if I never saw another gun in my life.
I took a deep cleansing breath and checked the time. I had an appointment with my client at ten this morning, and it was time to go. Her name was Tiffany and this was her senior year of college. Since I didn’t have a real office, I’d told her we could meet at the campus library in-between her classes, and with her busy schedule, meeting on campus worked out great for both of us.
I drove through town with my windows down and breathed in the crisp fall air. It was the first part of October and the sky was the perfect color of blue. The trees were just beginning to change into brilliant autumn colors, and framed against the blue sky, the pure beauty and serenity lifted my spirits. With everything I’d gone through lately, I knew I was lucky to be alive.
I parked at the visitor parking meters near the library and headed toward the front of the building. It had been several years since I’d been there last, and a wave of nostalgia washed over me. I’d only been to one year of college before I’d talked Chris into marrying me. It was love at first sight for me, but it had taken some gentle persuading on my part to help Chris see how perfect we were together. Right after our marriage, we’d gone off to law school in another state. Josh had been born exactly nine months later followed by Savannah two years after that. There were times when I regretted not finishing college back then, but I wouldn’t trade the life I had now for anything.
I loved my family and, as it turned out, I had a pretty good career without a degree, and I was proud of what I’d accomplished. Of course, if I hadn’t gotten shot in the head during a bank robbery, which left me with the ability to read minds, it might be a different story.
It was still hard for me to believe how my life had turned upside down simply because I’d stopped at the grocery store for some carrots. Who would have thought? Now I had my own consulting agency where I could get paid for helping people, and most of the time, all I had to do was read their minds. Not that it was always that easy, but after getting shot, I’d take some simple cases for a while.
A young woman sat on a bench near the fountain where we’d planned to meet. Her gaze caught mine and her eyes widened slightly before she recognized me. As I approached, she smiled and gave me a quick wave. She had long blond hair and a sweet face, but her somber eyes seemed out of place for someone her age, like she’d gone through some hard times.
Since she was a college student, I was a little nervous that she couldn’t afford my one-hundred-and-fifty-dollar-an-hour fee. But we’d talked about that before I agreed to meet her, and she’d seemed fine with it then. She stood to greet me.
“Shelby Nichols? Hi. I’m Tiffany Shaw. Thanks for meeting me.”
“Hi Tiffany, nice to meet you in person,” I answered.
“I know this is kind of informal, but it’s such a beautiful day. Do you mind staying out here in the sunshine?”
“I think that’s a great idea.”
“Good.” She resumed her seat on the bench and I sat beside her. She was thinking that she wasn’t sure how to start. What she needed might not even be possible, but she’d read about me in the paper and figured if anyone could help her, it was me. She’d been saving up for years to hire a private investigator and wanted the best. After a little digging, she’d heard rumors that I had premonitions. It didn’t faze her in the least. In fact, after all this time, she thought it might be the only thing that would solve the case. She just had to make sure her dad didn’t find out, since he was the over-protective sort. He’d tell her she was throwing away her money, and probably accuse me of taking advantage of her.
That certainly put a lot of pressure on me, and my stomach tightened with dread that her father would disapprove. But since she was thinking about not telling him, maybe he’d never need to find out. Considering her age and circumstances, I had hoped she’d hired me for something easy, like finding out if her roommate was after her boyfriend. But no, she was thinking about her mother, and that she was probably dead, and I knew nothing was ever as easy as I wished.
“I’d like to hire you to find my mother.” Her lips tightened and pain flashed through her eyes. “You see…I’m getting married in a few weeks and I really want her to be there.” She didn’t add ‘if she’s still alive’ like she was thinking.
She’d always imagined her mother would be at her wedding, and now that it was actually happening, she couldn’t stop wondering where her mom was and what had happened to her. The day her mother had gone missing was the worst day of her life, and thinking about it brought all the horror back, but she knew she would never move on unless she had some answers.
“Tell me what happened,” I said gently.
She took a deep breath. “It’s been nearly six years, and I know that’s a long time, but just hear me out before you decide if you can take the job or not.”
“Okay.” I encouraged her with a smile. “Go on.”
“Like I said…it will be six years on the twenty-eighth of October since she went missing. That night, she drove to the office where she worked to drop something off and never came back. They found her car parked in the parking structure with the keys in the ignition. Her purse was on the passenger seat. Nothing was taken, and there was no sign of a struggle. It was like she just disappeared off the face of the earth.”
“What did the police tell you?”
“Well…they dusted for prints, checked her office, put out a missing person’s report, questioned her colleagues at work, and brought my father in for questioning.” She hated that they had suspected him. He was innocent. He had nothing to do with it. He loved her mom. It still made her angry. It was part of what had made the day so bad. She not only lost her mother, but her father was never the same after that.
“What happened to your father? Did they charge him with anything?”
Tiffany shook her head. “No. They had no evidence that he was involved, but the police always suspect the husband first. So it was bad enough that my mom disappeared, but the fact that they thought my dad had something to do with it made it ten times worse.”
She sighed, wondering for the thousandth time what kind of person she would be right now if she still had her mom. She’d probably be a lot happier, that was for sure. “My dad’s doing better now. He even got married a couple of months ago.”
“That’s good,” I said.
“Yeah.” She was glad he had finally moved on, and wished it was something she could do. But the ache just wouldn’t go away, especially with her upcoming wedding. This was the most important day of her life, and her mother should be there. So where was she? What had happened? Who had taken her? Why hadn’t she come home?
In her heart, she knew her mother never would have left unless she was forced into it. Speculation from the police and others of affairs, with her mom running off with another man, only deepened the wound, and she wouldn’t believe any of it. That’s why a small part of her had to believe her mom was dead, but what if she wasn’t? What if someone was holding her captive? It could happen, and she just couldn’t give up until she knew for sure.
“What did the police decide about the case?” I asked.
“Officially, she’s missing and presumed dead. At least that’s what they declared so my dad could re-marry. I don’t know what happened to the case files. But I’m hoping you can dig them up and maybe find something that got passed over. I know it’s a long shot, but I’ve never had the resources to hire a private investigator until now. Do you think you could look into it for me?”
I bit my bottom lip. The chances of finding out what happened at this point were pretty slim. My mind-reading ability wouldn’t be of much use, although I could still question her dad. Even though she didn’t think it was him, I’d learned that some people were really good at keeping secrets, and I wasn’t about to rule him out. I could probably get my hands on the police file and talk to the detectives who handled the case, but beyond that, I didn’t have much hope.





About The Author - Colleen Helme


As the author of the Shelby Nichols Adventure Series, Colleen is often asked if Shelby Nichols is her alter-ego. “Definitely,” she says. “Shelby is the epitome of everything I wish I dared to be.” Known for her laugh since she was a kid, Colleen has always tried to find the humor in every situation and continues to enjoy writing about Shelby’s adventures. “I love getting Shelby into trouble…I just don’t always know how to get her out of it!” Colleen lives in the Rocky Mountains with her family. Besides writing, she loves a good book, biking, hiking, and playing board and card games with family and friends. She loves to connect with readers and admits that fans of the series keep her writing.








Author Links



BUY LINKS



GIVEAWAY

$25 Amazon Gift Card


 photo readingaddictionbutton_zps58fd99d6.png

Jul 20, 2014

Book Review: Brush Strokes by Janelle Stalder



Janelle's first contemporary novel didn't disappoint me at all. I have a bbad past with the genre. I can never really get into contemporary novels so I mostly stay away from them, but once in a while one book will show up in my radar that I know I have to give it a try. Brush Strokes was it. I really enjoyed this little piece of heaven that Janelle created.

Brush Strokes is the story of Olivia and Colt. They are next door neighbors that always had a thing for each other but never even talked. So, when Olivia leaves to go to art school and then comes back, Colt decides it's time for a change. They start hanging out and getting to know each other and fall even harder in love. Their love story was really sweet, warm and fuzzy. But besides the two MCs Janelle did a great job with the secondary characters, especially the two best friends. They were a breath of fresh air, giving the story a more fun side.

All in all, this was a great story. I loved how each chapters started with a quote about art and how Colt and Olivia's story progressed and bloomed. Highly recommended for lovers of contemporary novels.