Jul 31, 2013

The 13th Warning (Paperback) by R.L. Stine

Yet another Stine book. I can't seem to stay away from them. I adore Stine as a horror author and I tend to enjoy all his book. Like this one. It was kind of funny, sweet and kept you guessing what the next 13 will be.

So the story is about Lucky. He is the 13th child and both his parents are 13th children. His house is the number 13 and it's about to be his 13th birthday. Lucky as the name suggest is extremely lucky but the day before his birthday two people from the Superstitious Society end up on his doorstep, telling him that his luck is out about to run out. And if he gathers 13 thirteens before his birthday is over he is going to unleash a big evil on him.

Naturally, Lucky starts to have some misfortunes and starts to gather 13s. Each one getting closer to the count down. Will he gather them all and what will happen to him if he does?

As I said the book was a sweet, cute and creept story. You count along with Lucky all the 13s in his life. It was kind of funny but nothing really special. I have to admit I read so many books from Stine that were better than this one. But it was on sale and I couldn't resist it.


Jul 30, 2013

Charmed Blog Tour



Charmed (Death Escorts #2)
by Cambria Hebert

Life or Death? Not many people would choose death. But what if death chooses you? What if death doesn’t mean the end of your life, but the beginning?

For a Death Escort, death is life. Death is your paycheck. Death is your job.

And Charming is the best Escort the Grim Reaper has ever had.

But when you piss off the Reaper, being the best doesn’t matter. So Charming is assigned a Target who is practically impossible to kill. He knows the Reaper hopes he fails—that he’s counting on it. So Charming vows to prove him wrong. He vows to make the kill.

But someone else vows to get in his way. Someone with a big mouth, a sugar habit, and blond hair. Someone who makes his heart start beating again.

And so Charming is left holding more than one person’s fate in the palm of his hand. He thought the choice would be easy, that there really wasn’t a question at all.

He was wrong.

Life or Death?


My Review
Thank you Cambria Hebert for taking a chance in the NA world. This book was hot!

This is the second book in the Death Escort series but can be read as a stand alone too, thought the characters from book one appear and their story is also interwined a bit with this one. (Well, I suggest you read book #1 first). Anyways... this is the story of Frankie, a headstrong and full of life heroine and Charming, the best Death Escort, a cold and calculating man who can charm his way through anything.

Frankie knows exactly who Charming is and what is his job (read book one) so she decides to stop him and don't let another Target get killed, cause that's what Death Escorts do, they kill Targets for the Grim Reaper to collect their souls. So Frankie starts getting close to the Target and at the same time close to Charming, until the inevitable happens and she falls for him. But what is more surprising is that Charming is falling for her too, even after 90 years of being a cold hearted, killing machine.

This book was amazing. Both Frankie and Charming are great characters, with strong personalities, full of passion(and lust). I loved the way they kept fighting with each other all the while watching them fall deeper and deeper in love. They had no power over what they did to each other. It was all so magical and god, the chemistry between them was overwhelming! Having these kind of main characters this book had so much more hot scenes than the first one. Actually the first one was more of an YA book but this one bordered on adult. Still it was brilliant.

It was a torture to see how Frankie wanted Charming but still couldn't accept the fact that he killed for a living. And then even he started getting buried underneath all the guilt. After 90 years of being an Escort he finally started feeling again and that changed him. I love it when the main female protagonist brings the best out of a bad boy.

I loved every single scene Charming and Frankie had together. And then there is this great ending. With some mysteries still left unsolved for the next book. Cambria put these characters through hell and I had no idea how they were going to work things out, especially with the Grim Reaper, but in the end they did. And I was glad that they found their happy ending, especially Charming 'cause he deserved it more than anyone else.

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.*



Buy Links
Amazon | B&N | 

Book Trailer



Author Bio
Cambria Hebert is the author of the young adult paranormal Heven and Hell series, the new adult Death Escorts series, and the new adult Take it Off series. She loves a caramel latte, hates math and is afraid of chickens (yes, chickens). She went to college for a bachelor’s degree, couldn’t pick a major, and ended up with a degree in cosmetology. So rest assured her characters will always have good hair. She currently lives in North Carolina with her husband and children (both human and furry) where she is plotting her next book. You can find out more about Cambria and her work by visiting http://www.cambriahebert.com

“Like” her on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Cambria-Hebert/128278117253138
Follow her on Twitter: https://twitter.com/cambriahebert
Pinterest: https://pinterest.com/cambriahebert/pins/
Cambria website: http://www.cambriahebert.com
Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/CambriaHebert?feature=mhee


Giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Jul 29, 2013

Second Grave on the Left (Charley Davidson #2) by Darynda Jones

Welcome back to the crazy life of Charley Davidson, grim reaper extraordinaire. This time around Charlie and her friend Cookie are looking for a missing woman, Mimi. Mimi was supposed to call Charley, she was scared of something and she came in contact with Cookie but she never actually said why. So when she sends atext to Cookie to meet, the later grabs Charley in the middle of the night to find out what is going on. But there is no sign of Mimi, beside a coded message. The woman is missing, her husband is accused of murder and a lot of Mimi's old classmates turn up dead, on way or another.

Besides the job Charley is paid to do, she also struggles to find Reyes body, after a visit from him and the revelation that he wants to let his corporeal body die. He is not very happy about it and will do anything to stop her.

I have to say I missed Charley. She is such a smart-ass that you can't help but adore her. Yes, she makes bad decisions and is not as kick-ass as she'd like to think but that only goes to show that she is human, even though a grim reaper, and it makes her even more lovable. It was really frustrating to she her trying to convince Reyes to stay alive, tell her where his body was. He can be so stubborn, but with a good reason.

Then there is the mystery of what happened years ago when Mimi was in high school that now had a few of her classmates dying. After the middle of the story it was becoming very clear where the story was heading. I am a CSI buff so there were a few episodes that reminded me of Charley's case. Still, even though I figured out partial what happened in the past I couldn't tell who was committing the murders, which is always good, keeping us guessing.

I really enjoyed the story and I can't wait to read the third book. There are so much more stuff left to uncover about Charley's powers and Reyes and heaven and hell and demons...well, you know, stuff.


Jul 28, 2013

Showcase Sunday #9



Inspired by Pop Culture Junkie and the Story Siren, the aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders each week. For more information about how this feature works and how to join in, click here.
~Vicky @ Books Biscuits and Tea

Welcome back to another Showcase Sunday. This past week I was supposed to study for my Master's degree but instead ended up rewatching my favourite TV shows. Good to see that my procrastination ability still holds strong. Anyways, this week I bought a few kindle books, mostly short stories in between novels that I wanted to read. Here's what I got.

For I Have Sinned: This is book #1.5 in the Charley Davidson series. I've already read it and I am currently almost done with book #2. I think that this novella doesn't really offer anything more to the story. It only helps people like me, who had read the first book a long time ago, to remember a few things. But if you just read the first one you can totally skip this one.
The Dark Discovery of Jack Dandy: This is book #2.5 in the Steampunk Chronicles. I love this series so much and I was really excited when i found about this short story about Jack. He is one of the most intriguing characters in the books. I can't wait to read it and then go and buy the third book. Oh, and I just saw that there is another short coming up soon and it's about Jasper.
Breathless: What can I say about the Merrick boys. I am in love. This is the story of Nick, or at least the beginning of his story. I've yet to read Spark but it is next in my to read list. I've missed the brothers so much.

Tempting the Best Man: I've been really curious about JLA's adult books and this seems like a good place to start. Even though I am not much of a contemporary reader.

Jul 25, 2013

For I Have Sinned (Charley Davidson, #1.5) by Darynda Jones

That was fast...

For I have sinned picks up a few days after the end of First Grave. I was really looking forward to get inside Charlie's head again since she is the most hilarious main character I know, but this short storie is from the POV of the ghost that is trying to figure out how she died.

The story was really good to remind me though, a few things about Reyes and what happened in the first book so that I can now start reading the second one. And in the end it was a really sweet story.


Jul 24, 2013

Charmed (Death Escorts #2) by Cambria Hebert

Thank you Cambria Hebert for taking a chance in the NA world. This book was hot!

This is the second book in the Death Escort series but can be read as a stand alone too, thought the characters from book one appear and their story is also interwined a bit with this one. (Well, I suggest you read book #1 first). Anyways... this is the story of Frankie, a headstrong and full of life heroine and Charming, the best Death Escort, a cold and calculating man who can charm his way through anything.

Frankie knows exactly who Charming is and what is his job (read book one) so she decides to stop him and don't let another Target get killed, cause that's what Death Escorts do, they kill Targets for the Grim Reaper to collect their souls. So Frankie starts getting close to the Target and at the same time close to Charming, until the inevitable happens and she falls for him. But what is more surprising is that Charming is falling for her too, even after 90 years of being a cold hearted, killing machine.

This book was amazing. Both Frankie and Charming are great characters, with strong personalities, full of passion(and lust). I loved the way they kept fighting with each other all the while watching them fall deeper and deeper in love. They had no power over what they did to each other. It was all so magical and god, the chemistry between them was overwhelming! Having these kind of main characters this book had so much more hot scenes than the first one. Actually the first one was more of an YA book but this one bordered on adult. Still it was brilliant.

It was a torture to see how Frankie wanted Charming but still couldn't accept the fact that he killed for a living. And then even he started getting buried underneath all the guilt. After 90 years of being an Escort he finally started feeling again and that changed him. I love it when the main female protagonist brings the best out of a bad boy.

I loved every single scene Charming and Frankie had together. And then there is this great ending. With some mysteries still left unsolved for the next book. Cambria put these characters through hell and I had no idea how they were going to work things out, especially with the Grim Reaper, but in the end they did. And I was glad that they found their happy ending, especially Charming 'cause he deserved it more than anyone else.

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.*


Jul 22, 2013

Charmed Release Day Blitz



Title: Charmed
Series: Death Escorts
 NOTE: you do NOT have to read Recalled to understand Charmed. You can just read Charmed. Reading Recalled will give you a little more background info though. 
Author: Cambria Hebert
Release Date: July 22, 2013
Genre: New Adult Paranormal Romance. ***Note: Due to Sexual content and some language this book is recommended for readers 17+***


Charmed (Death Escorts #2)
by Cambria Hebert

Life or Death? Not many people would choose death. But what if death chooses you? What if death doesn’t mean the end of your life, but the beginning?

For a Death Escort, death is life. Death is your paycheck. Death is your job.

And Charming is the best Escort the Grim Reaper has ever had.

But when you piss off the Reaper, being the best doesn’t matter. So Charming is assigned a Target who is practically impossible to kill. He knows the Reaper hopes he fails—that he’s counting on it. So Charming vows to prove him wrong. He vows to make the kill.

But someone else vows to get in his way. Someone with a big mouth, a sugar habit, and blond hair. Someone who makes his heart start beating again.

And so Charming is left holding more than one person’s fate in the palm of his hand. He thought the choice would be easy, that there really wasn’t a question at all.

He was wrong.

Life or Death?


Buy Links
Amazon | B&N

Book Trailer



Author Bio
Cambria Hebert is the author of the young adult paranormal Heven and Hell series, the new adult Death Escorts series, and the new adult Take it Off series. She loves a caramel latte, hates math and is afraid of chickens (yes, chickens). She went to college for a bachelor’s degree, couldn’t pick a major, and ended up with a degree in cosmetology. So rest assured her characters will always have good hair. She currently lives in North Carolina with her husband and children (both human and furry) where she is plotting her next book. You can find out more about Cambria and her work by visiting http://www.cambriahebert.com

“Like” her on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Cambria-Hebert/128278117253138
Follow her on Twitter: https://twitter.com/cambriahebert
Pinterest: https://pinterest.com/cambriahebert/pins/
Cambria website: http://www.cambriahebert.com
Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/CambriaHebert?feature=mhee

Giveaway

Jul 21, 2013

Showcase Sunday #8



Inspired by Pop Culture Junkie and the Story Siren, the aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders each week. For more information about how this feature works and how to join in, click here.
~Vicky @ Books Biscuits and Tea


Welcome to my eight Showcase Sunday. Last few weeks have been very busy for me. Even though it's the middle of summer I still have a lot of work to do for my master thesis and that leaves me with not much time to do anything else. Still it only takes a few minutes to buy new books online, so of course I made a few orders :)

Lover Awakened: This is the third book in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series. I am still half way through the second one but this series is really growing on me so I decided to have the third one available for whenever I am done with the second.
Variant: This book looks like a great mystery thriller and I love books with boarding schools.

These are the books I got last week.
Leave me links to your new book hauls in the comments.

Jul 13, 2013

Giveaway: Apocalypse! Blog Hop

Apocalypse! An eight day blog hop hosted by Heidi@Rainy Day Ramblings, Maja@ The Nocturnal Library and Christy@ Love of Books.

For my Apocalypse! Giveaway I've chosen a few post apocalyptic books. One of you can pick one of the books listed below. Open Internationally, as long as the Book Depository ships to you. Parasite is going to be a pre-order since the book is not out yet. Don't forget to hop to the rest of the participating blogs.


a Rafflecopter giveaway


Didn't get enough hops, visit these stops everyday for something extra.
Apocalypse Schedule:
July 13th: Apocalypse! Blog Hop
Heidi@Rainy Day Ramblings: Michelle Pickett: PODS
July14th:
Christy@ Love of Books:Demetria Lunetta: In the After
July 15th:
Maja@ The Nocturnal Library: Jay Kristoff: Stormdancer
Heidi@Rainy Day Ramblings: Jeyn Roberts: Dark Inside
Christy@ Love of Books: Annie Walls: Taking on the Dead
July 16th:
Maja@ The Nocturnal Library: Phoebe North: Starglass Heidi@Rainy Day Ramblings: Heather Hildenbrand: ImitationChristy@ Love of Books: Megan Crewe: Fallen World Trilogy
July 17th:
Maja@ The Nocturnal Library:Tim Marquitz: Demon Squad Series
Heidi@Rainy Day Ramblings: Laura Bickle: The Hallowed Ones
Christy@ Love of Books: Em Garner: Contaminated
July 18th:
Maja@ The Nocturnal Library: Mira Grant: Feed and ParasiteHeidi@Rainy Day Ramblings: Ann Aguirre: OutpostChristy@ Love of Books:Jesse Peterson: Living with the Dead
T
ressa@ Tressa's Wishful Endings: Alexandra Bracken: The Darkest Minds

Jul 12, 2013

Giveaway & Interview: Fire by Heather James

The Book
Fire (Elements of Power #1)
by Heather James


Is control over the elements a gift, or a curse?

Roxy thinks that she is in control of everything: with flames flaring at her fingertips and an equally fiery attitude, what more could she need? But then she meets Brae, a prince from a rival Realm, who turns her assumptions of superiority upside down.

Jasmine has none of Roxy’s confidence or intensity. But she does have a secret - and Brae - and she’s not going to give either up willingly.


The Interview
1. Describe your book in 3 words. 
Fantasy, dual-narrative, elements

2. What inspired you to write Fire
I loved the idea of characters who could control the elements; particularly producing and manipulating fire. I also wanted to write about a love triangle from a very different perspective and hopefully produce a story where it is difficult to pick a side.

3. Where do you usually write?
I am in the middle of moving house, so that the moment, it's everywhere and no where! I'm happy to write at any desk or table I can find; if I don't write where and when I can, I don't end up writing at all. However, it is always nicer to write with a view. My garden is great for that, although I actually started writing Fire in a caravan on the Isle of Wight. My favourite place to write is while on the Isles of Scilly- the views there provide limitless inspiration.

4. What is the one thing (or multiple) you always have with you while writing?
My laptop and notebooks are usually on hand, although I'm happy to sit and write anywhere as long as I have something to write on! During NaNoWriMo last year, I used to write on scrap bits of paper during my lunch break at work, then type them up when I got home.

5. Which are your top 3 favourite series/books of all time?
Harry Potter - no contest.
Uglies - These are the books I wish I had written
The Infernal Devices - Shadowhunters and Victorian London - what's not to love!

6. Your favourite movies or TV shows?
Gossip Girl, The Vampire Diaries, True Blood, Hart of Dixie and Glee are my favourites. I've also just started Graceland, which I love. Film-wise, I like the Pirates of the Caribbean series and any Rom-Com. The last film I saw was World War Z, which was awesome and reminded me of the Forest of Hands and Teeth series, which I would absolutely recommend to anyone who hasn't checked them out yet.

7. What should we expect from you in the future?
Water and Air - the second and third installments in the Elements of Power series. I'm also working on a few other ideas and will hopefully be blogging again a lot more once the summer holidays start.


Author Bio
Heather James is a young-adult author who writes about heroines with amazing powers, heroes who will break your heart and fantasy realms that you will want to move to.

She works in the attendance office of a South-East London secondary school and spends her school holidays writing, reading, playing flag-American football and wasting time marketing on Pinterest.


Visit the official page: Elements of Power Series
Fire is available now: Amazon.co.uk Amazon.com Kobo B&N Smashwords

The Giveaway
Enter to win one e-copy of Fire gifted via Smashwords.
Open Internationally

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Jul 10, 2013

Christmas in July- Kindle Fire Giveaway! By Clean Teen Publishing


Clean Teen Publishing has had an amazing start to the Summer with three author's hitting Best Seller's status on Amazon and two new releases scheduled in July! With all of the amazingness going on, we want to give back to you! Enter this giveaway for your chance to win a Kindle Fire (U.S. Residents) or  a $50 Amazon Gift Card (International Entrants). 

Thank you to everyone who has helped make the grand opening year of Clean Teen Publishing, a whopping success! Enter the Rafflecopter below and make sure to come back daily for additional entries! Good luck! 

Summer Reading from Clean Teen Publishing:

Amazon: Concealed in the Shadows by Gabrielle ArrowsmithDouble Star by Cindy Saunders, Wonderstruck (A Clean Teen Publishing Anthology), Wind Warrior by Jon Messenger Project ELE and Night Marchers by Rebecca Gober and Courtney Nuckels


Twitter: @CleanTeenPub and follow the Clean Teen Publishing Blog

Coming SOON (July 6th/12th): Heartkeeper and Heartbound by B.T. Lyons. (Middle Grade- Young Adult Series)



Jul 9, 2013

Tell Me Something Tuesday: Sleeper Books

Tell Me Something Tuesday is hosted by Heidi @ Rainy Day Ramblings. It is a chance to talk about all topics and a way to get to know your fellow bloggers. Participate as often as you like. Grab the question, answer it on your blog and add your link!

This week's question:
I love this book, why haven’t more people read it!? What are some of your favorite sleeper books that you wish more people would read?

My Answer:
I love this week's question 'cause sometimes I feel like there are so many series that I completely adore but others have no idea about them. The weird thing is the have many ratings, some of them over 10.000 ratings on goodreads, but the thing is, when I see the shelves of my goodreads friends I usually don't find them there and it's a shame 'cause al of them are amazing. So let's talk about some of them.


The Looking Glass Wars: I was never a huge Alice in Wonderland fan, I am more of a Wizard of Oz groupie, but this series is great. It's a spin on the original tale. Frank Beddor has created an amazing Wonderland all of his own. These books have everything in them. Love, lost, battles. I think if I was an Alice in Wonderland fan I'd be obsessed with them.


The Midnighters: Everyone knows Scott Westerfeld from his Uglies series, which by the way I've still to read, but the Midnighters is the series that made me love him. That guy is brilliant. The whole idea behind this series is brilliant. I got so attached to the characters and their stories and powers and everything they had to go through. And OH.MY.GOD. that ending, brilliant (and heart breaking).

The Shamer Chronicles: Another very original story that got me hooked by the second book. Yes, I have to admit the first one was really good but after the second one the story just went on another level. And I simply adored the last book. It was epic.


Stravaganza: I love this series!!! I was in love with Italy before I started reading these books but after every story I has even more hooked. This compines time-traveling with parallel universes. Brilliant. Everybook has a different main character that travels from our world to Talia (the Italy of this other world) and every book takes places in a different city. Still all the characters from the previous books show up and there is a big storyline on the background that evolves from book to book. I have to admit I still haven't read the last book and that's simply because I don't want the story to be over. But I think its time is getting closer.


Eden: And of course this list would be incomplete without this series. For me Janelle is one of the most brilliant indie authors out there. Her writing is only getting better and better, each book will have you hooked and the world of Eden, oh God! This is one of the places I will carry in my heart forever. There are no words to describe how amazingly awesome this series is and the final book is getting closer.

Those were some of my all time favourite series that not a lot of people know about. Let me know some of yours. I am always on the look out for hidden gems.