May 31, 2013

Happy Release Day Wonderstruck

Wonderstruck is now available! Get Wonderstruck TODAY from Amazon!
Add Wonderstruck to your Goodreads to be read list:

When you look at a picture, what do you see? We gave authors around the world the challenge to write a story based on a set of five images. More than thirty authors rose to that challenge and created an amazing young adult anthology of drabbles, short stories, novelettes and novellas for you to enjoy. Flip the pages and prepare to be Wonderstruck!

Dive into a world where wind is a power that feeds the flames and love makes everything more complicated. A life where a scorned bride can cause a great deal of trouble and a place where silence as you will find out has a lot to say. Find yourself in a future where a powerful enemy can only be stopped by the most dangerous weapon of all: the truth. All of this and more lies within these very pages... Are you ready?

Wonderstruck is Clean Teen Publishing's first break through Young Adult anthology. All stories within this book have fallen within our YA rating scale, however, not all stories have young adult characters. You will find a great deal of entertainment within Wonderstruck that is appropriate for readers of all ages. To view more information on our official content rating system please visit:www.cleanteenpublishing.com

Winning Novella-
Wind Warrior by Jon Messenger (Clean Teen Publishing Author of Wind Warrior)
The sleepy town of White Halls harbors a dangerous secret. On a picturesque street, two houses down from a lovely little park, in a quaint little home with a wraparound porch, lives a family that seems rather normal. Sure, their twenty year old son, Xander, still lives at home, but he's going to college and dating the leader of the schools top sorority. It's all very... normal. However, when a man is miraculously saved from being hit by a bus, Xander's life turns in to the living embodiment of the tornadoes he can suddenly create with a flick of his wrist. Whether he wants this gift or not, Xander must learn to use his new 'super power' quickly if he wants to survive. For his kind is a dying race, and when this sleepy town has a sudden influx of new, blonde, fire wielders, no one is safe, especially Xander. It doesn't help that one of these blondes happens to be the most beautiful girl he has ever seen. Xander can't deny the instant connection he feels to her so, when she tries to kill him, it certainly makes things complicated.

Winning Novelette-
Pastiche by Maren Dille

A punishment far worse than death awaits Alim Hamal. Sylin Incorporated has a particular sentence for their rogue assassins: uncovering the darkest moments in their subconscious, then watching as they relive them through virtual simulation. Only one assassin has ever escaped. Alim plans to be the second.

The simulation demands the truth, something Alim has kept from his employers at all costs. But as his final moments emerge, Sylin will discover that the truth is Alim’s most dangerous weapon.

Winning Short Story-
The Silent Man by Katie Ellis

I thought my time with Silence would be peaceful. Heaven knows I deserve it after all those years of raising babies. Silence, however, had a different plan. If it weren't for Marigold, I don't think I would've seen it. She introduced me to the Silent Man, and Silence, as it turns out, has quite a bit to say.

Winning Drabble-
A Lady's Revenge by Jennifer Bull

A scorned bride can cause a great deal of trouble...

Wonderstruck Authors (By Last Name)
Radeyah H. Ali

Drabble~ Magically Fitted

Gabrielle Arrowsmith (Clean Teen Publishing Author of Concealed in the Shadows)
Drabble~ Joah and the Beacon of Light

Beau Barnett
Short Story~ Into Eternity
Eric, a widowed paralytic, knows he is dreaming when he sees a younger version of his deceased wife, Jessica, by a lake with his old dog. But the joy of seeing them again is replaced by the pain of knowing they won't be there when he wakes up.

Jennifer Bull
Short Story~ A Wizard's World
When Jack stumbled upon a strange jar in the middle of the forest he found the one thing he had always wanted—a friend, and now he’ll do everything he can to protect her. Born into a world unlike any other, a world within a jar, Lottie longs to explore beyond her glass home. Little does she know that even the smallest adventures can have dangerous consequences…
Drabble~ Life in a Jar
Drabble~ Round and Round I Go
Drabble~ Once In a Blue Moon

Liana Chau
Drabble~ Ahead and Beyond

MeMe Collier
Short Story~ The Fairy Jar
Gracie doesn't believe in magic. Disillusioned by their mother's abandonment, she dismisses her younger brother, Brennan's, claim that he's caught a fairy. But as the invisible Ileana works in her family's lives, memories of their mother's fairytales tug at Gracie's mind. They call into question everything she's come to place her faith in, making her wonder if magic really does exist and if love still lives on after loss.

Leah D.W.
Short Story~ Watery Grave
There is something in the water...something dark...something hungry...
When Ashlynn escapes from a life of abuse she is thrown into the swamplands rumored to harbor a nightmare. She should have listened to the rumors because there is something in the water...and it loves the taste of human flesh


Julie Gilbert
Drabble~ Keio and the Farsight Fire

Lisa Goldman
Short Story~ Oafish Me
In Oafish Me, teenager, Misty, considers herself a social outcast—an oaf—as her classmates remind her every opportunity they get. When Drake, a charismatic and gorgeous new student, stays by her side through their constant ridicule, she discovers she not only longs for a friendship with him but for the first time, a relationship. With her raw emotions on the line, she accepts his invitation to go out but when he takes her to a secluded wooded area, she starts to question if he is her knight in shining armor or her worst enemy.

Dominique Goodall
Drabble~ Fairy Capture
Brenna Harden
Short Story~ A Warriors Journey

Sandra Havriluk
Drabble~ Jedidiah

Sacha Hope
Novelette~ Glass Heart
Wolt is a brilliant scientist trying desperately to cure his wife's condition. Doctors suspected she had a type of cancer and their medicines offered little help to the ailing woman. Wolt finds a way to buy time for his wife, but his experiment turns her into something else altogether...

Erin Liles
Novelette ~ Outside the Walls
Outspoken, seventeen-year-old Jenna hates the settlement she lives in where disagreement is frowned upon. Fed up, she leaves one day, and meets a group of outsiders, only to discover that her home and family are in danger. It is up to Jenna to save them and in doing so, discover what is really important.

B.T. Lyons
Novella~ Heartkeeper Short Story
It only took fifty years for humankind to plummet from the turmoil of a population of ten billion people to a struggling group of two billion trying to figure out how to survive in harmony with the Earth. Under a new, peaceful societal structure, people have relearned their connection with the Land and the spirits of nature that live there. Young Adain has just reached thirteen years of age, and must undertake the dangerous Heart Chase to secure the spirit of an animal that will act as his conscience and companion for the rest of his life. It will be a year of trials and challenges, but the risks to the People may be even higher as someone else binds with an animal spirit that may not have their best interests in mind...

Short Story~ Peace
London in the late 1800's is a dirty, chaotic, and above all, loud place embroiled in a scientific war with neighboring France as each strives to outdo each other with technological wonders. A young married pair of university professionals finds themselves at odds over the benefits of this war: Nigel only wants to see England prevail – preferably through his own inventions – whereas his wife, Christine, dreams of quiet and a natural world that she has only seen in storybooks. Enter a street-side vendor offering “Peace In A Bottle”; this might be the answer to Christine's greatest desires, but it could be the beginning of Nigel's worst nightmare.

Julie Marcinik
Short Story~ The Executioner
Vivian Fletcher has a gift that’s given her a special place in the kingdom—the King’s personal executioner. Everything and everyone she touches dies. When she finds out that the world she’s living in is full of lies and turmoil, she’ll have to accept her gift and use it to right the wrongs.

Mia Marin
Drabble~ A Note To My Traveler
Drabble~ A Dear Dalliance

Miranda Maurin
Short Story~ The Dance of Time
Tabitha and Carter are a little too daring when they run through a tunnel to investigate the mysterious music they heard while running through the woods. The cave is well lit, and the dance looks fun, but they can't seem to stop.

Veronica Morfi
Drabble~ Shine

Ifeoma Ofuani
Drabble~ He Would Be Great

Paula Phillips
Short Story~ Skye in High School Wonderland
It started out just like any normal day for high school Plain Jane Skye Salisbury until tragedy strikes her school and out of nowhere, a glimmering hole appeared. The question on everyone's minds is—what lies at the bottom? Will it be another world or a different dimension?

Jocelyn Sanchez
Novella~ A World Unlike Mine
What would you do if you could see magical creatures from the early age of five? Well, for seventeen-year-old Tasha it gets pretty difficult when a fairy prince named Thomas appears with news that will change her life forever. But with the help of her best friend and pixie, Seamus, Tasha will find her place in a world so unlike hers. Will she rise to the occasion and become who she was destined to be?
Drabble~ Night
Drabble~ Darkness and Light

Cindy Saunders (Clean Teen Publishing Author of Double Star)
Short Story~ Nirvana
She looked at the picture she’d painted many years ago. It was a magical place—a place inspired by her dreams. Though, tonight it almost seemed... alive, as if it were calling to her.

Clemy W. Thompson
Drabble~ The Truth

Dana Wright
Drabble~ Fairy Lights

****************

More from Clean Teen Publishing:
Clean Teen Publishing Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cleanteenpublishing
Gabrielle Arrowsmith https://www.facebook.com/ConcealedInTheShadows
Cindy Saunders https://www.facebook.com/doublestarbook
Jon Messenger https://www.facebook.com/jonmessengerauthor
Follow us on Twitter: @CleanTeenPub
Follow the Clean Teen Publishing Blog at: http://cleanteenpublishing.blogspot.com/
Purchase Concealed in the Shadows by Gabrielle Arrowsmith at:
http://www.amazon.com/Concealed-in-the-Shadows-ebook/dp/B00CUJ3QQE/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1369954686&sr=1-1&keywords=concealed+in+the+shadows
Double Star is Releasing on June 7, 2013
Wind Warrior (The Full Novel) is Releasing on June 14, 2013

May 27, 2013

The Anti-BEA Read-A-Thon

The Anti-BEA Read-A-Thon is a one week read-a-thon for those of us who are not able to go to BEA and want to distract ourselves with reading. This is a very last moment decision for me. I literaly jsut saw a post about it and thought, "What the heck, let's do it!"

For more info on the read-a-thon you can visit this page. This is a very casual read-a-thon and I like that, 'cause I have no idea how much reading I'll be able to do (there is a huge project in one of my classes that I have to finish in a week).

I will just do a wrap up post at the end of the read-a-thon, so don't expect any updates here. I will be twitting about my reading statuses hough on the official hashtag  #AntiBEAReadathon

First book I am going to read for the read-a-thon is Magician's End. I am already 262 pages in.

May 26, 2013

Showcase Sunday #4

Inspired by Pop Culture Junkie and the Story Siren, the aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders each week. For more information about how this feature works and how to join in, click here.
Welcome to my fourth Showcase Sunday, I didn't have one last week cause there was nothing to showcase, and probably I won't have one next week either. Everything has been really slow for my reading life cause I am getting closer to the end of my semester and that means, projects, projects and then exams.

Anyways, let's see what I got last week.

I bought these two beauties. I am currently reading Magician's End, I can never wait to read the books in Riftwar Cycle, so I just put everything aside. It is brilliant. I can't believe after 30 books this is the end.
Of course, I also bought School Spirits. The book fits perfectly with my Hardbacks of the Hex Hall series. I will probably pick this up next (along with my review books) cause I adored Hex Hall and can't wait to find out Izzy's story. I heard that, School Spirits might not have a sequel, but I seriously hope that's not true.

Earlier that week I won Imitation by Heather Hildenbrand, it seems like a really interesting book. I still haven't read her Dirty Blood series, so I will start from there first.

That was it for me. Leave me links to your new hauls.

May 25, 2013

Interview and Giveaway: Concealed in the Shadows

Today I am really excited to welcome Gabrielle Arrowsmith to talk about her new book Concealed in the Shadows that was just released. Don't forget to roll down to the end of the post for the giveaway.

Concealed in the Shadows
by Gabrielle Arrowsmith

Sydney Harter has long awaited September 12th, 2033—her eighteenth birthday. She can finally apply for guardianship of her sister, who is her only family and entire world. She hopes they will be lawfully reunited, but is prepared to defy authority and risk everything to escape the captivity of Miles County so that they can be together.

Escaping will be difficult and dangerous. Citizens are bound to their county by sophisticated chip implants that deliver shocks to those who dare to cross the electric barrier. Sydney is very clever, but her trickery is limited against the all-seeing eyes of technology. Even if they were to survive the escape, disappearing into the forgotten forests and towns of the past seems an impossible task.

What Sydney doesn't know is that she is the particular interest of two opposing forces. With deceit, fear, and warfare surrounding her—can she trust the party that aims to help with her fight against the other? Can she open her heart to receive and return unexpected love? When her sister’s life becomes jeopardized, Sydney will have to weigh a new love against the only enduring love she has known. The cost could be deadly…

How will she choose?

Interview
1. Describe your book in 3 words.
Intriguing, suspenseful, and emotional.

2. What inspired you to write Concealed in the Shadows?
Advancements in education and research that I had been reading about chip implants sparked the development of the ideas that I eventually put into the novel. The inspiration came from reading a number of powerful young-adult series. I simply had to try my own hand at writing. Thus, Concealed in the Shadows was born!

3. Where do you usually write?
I refer to the space as 'my office', but I am definitely guilty of writing while sitting up in bed. I have a nice lap tray and back rest, so why not?

4. What is the one thing (or multiple) you always have with you while writing?
I always have a pencil and a flood of papers where I've made sloppy sketches of the setting or jotted down notes about things that are coming up or things that I need to remember for consistency and continuity. I often have my phone which houses a long list of character names. Lastly, I sometimes have a pet cat or two who do not recognize that I am in 'my office' working. My keyboard is their stomping ground. Ugh.

5. Which are your top 3 favorite series/books of all time?
I have new favorites all of the time-making this question difficult to answer. For now, I'm going to go with Flowers for Algernon, The Hunger Games (series), and The Kite Runner.

6. Your favorite movies or TV shows?
My favorite dramatic movies include Pay it Forward and Pearl Harbor. May favorite action/adventure films with a comedic flare include Pirates of the Caribbean and Sherlock Holmes! I don't watch much television, but I like to watch the occasional episode of The Mentalist, The Big Bang Theory, and Friends.

7. What should we expect from you in the future?
You should expect two more book in this series. I also have ideas for a few stand-alone novels. One is flourishing against my will and egging me on to write the story. The current series is developing too, and it takes precedence!

Author Bio
Gabrielle Arrowsmith was born to her loving mother, father, and older brother on August 16th, 1988. She grew up in the small town of Ham Lake, MN enjoying reading, writing, playing soccer, acting in school plays, playing piano, and adventures with her brother and cousins.

Since 2009, Gabrielle has enjoyed teaching third through sixth graders in various school settings. She has recently transitioned to substitute teaching in order to pursue her passion for storytelling through both writing and acting. She also continues to enjoy playing and coaching soccer.

Where to find Gabrielle:
Website: http://www.gabriellearrowsmith.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ConcealedInTheShadows
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6880655.Gabrielle_Arrowsmith
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/garrowsmith13
CTP Website: http://www.cleanteenpublishing.com/gabrielle-arrowsmith.html

Giveaway
Enter to win an e-copy of Concealed in the Shadows and a bookmark.
Open Internationally
a Rafflecopter giveaway

May 17, 2013

Author Page

 
Hello everyone!!! Today I am really excited, as you can tell by the gif, because I created my author page in facebook and I would love it if you would consider stopping by and possibly liking it. I will soon be featured in an anthology so I decided it was a good time to start my author page. :)

Here it is: Veronica Morfi Author

By the way, today is the Virtual Release Party for Concealed in the Shadows on facebook. You should totally check it out.  There are going to be a lot of prizes that you can win. :)

May 14, 2013

Something Awesome This Way Comes...

I decided to do a post about some very interesting things that are coming our way.

First of all Cambria Hebert's latest book, Renegade, is out and the book tour has already begun. You can find the schedule here. You can also check the book out on goodreads.

The next thing that was just announced is the Apocalypse! Blog Hop hosted by Rainy Day Ramblings, Love of Books and The Noctural Library. You can join in here. I helped in this blog hop by making the banners and buttons so I am very excited to see them on sidebars all around the blogosphere.

More exciting news came from two of my favourite authors, Rebecca Gober and Courtney Nuckels, co-authors of the ELE and the Nightmarchers series. Those two ladies are part of the Clean Teen Publishing team, that just started and has a few books planned for release already. One of them being Concealed in the Shadows.
You can join the cover reveal party of Concealed the Shadows here and enter to win an amazon gift card and a CITS bookmark.

More exciting news are coming in the form of new releases!!!

Bella Forrest's new book just got published. I love her A Shade of Vampire series and can't wait to read something else by her.

You can find Beautiful Monster on amazon.




This is the last book in the Riftwar Cycle. It's book number 30 or 31 (not so sure)!!! I am a huge fan of the series and can't wait to read this one. Although I am kind of sad that the series is coming to an end.

You can find Magician's End on amazon and TBD.



Another new release that is already on its way to my home is School Spirits. I loved loved loved the Hex Hall series and I am really looking forward to this spin-off about Izzy.

You can find School Spirits on amazon and TBD.

May 12, 2013

Showcase Sunday #3

Inspired by Pop Culture Junkie and the Story Siren, the aim of Showcase Sunday is to highlight our newest books or book related swag and to see what everyone else received for review, borrowed from libraries, bought in bookshops and downloaded onto eReaders each week. For more information about how this feature works and how to join in, click here.
Welcome to this week's Showcase Sunday post. Yesterday I came back to the city where my university is. The bad news are that is was the end of my Easter vacations, but the goods news are that I am back with my friends from uni, my dog and my beloved bookshelves. :)

Last week I didn't buy any books but I got a few for free.

The Descent Series: This is still free on amazon and it sounds like something really cool.

Bad Yeti: I loved Bad Taste in Boys and can't wait to read Bad Hair Day, so you can guess I was very excited when I saw there was a novella in between. I got Bad Yeti with a gift card I won in an ELE Series Street Team contest.

That was all for me :) Leave me links to your new books.

May 2, 2013

Quiz and Giveaway: Immortal Eclipse by Sherry Soule

IE Banner photo ImmortalE.gif
Today’s guest post is provided by author Sherry Soule, who is celebrating the release of her novel, IMMORTAL ECLIPSE—due to be published April 30, 2013. If you like supernatural suspense mingled with a dash of chick-lit and a healthy dose of paranormal romance, then this is the book for you! 

Take this super fun quiz to discover which paranormal pet you’re fated to own, and score an eBook version of IMMORTAL ECLIPSE. 

This giveaway is open internationally! So let’s tell the blogging world! 

Must heroes need a sidekick, and if fate smiles upon you, then you’ll have a paranormal pet watching your back. But which one best suits YOU? 

Take this quiz and be sure to check the bottom of the post for the details regarding this random giveaway.

What size pet would you prefer? 
a) Small
b) Medium
c) Large
d) Gigantic

Do you mind a pet that might shed? 
a) Loose fur? I’m cool with that
b) Rough scales are acceptable
c) Transparent coat? No biggie
d) Shedding pelt—ain’t a problem

How would you like your pet to greet people at the door? 
a) Rub their ankles and purr
b) Spitting and growling
c) Bark and sniff hand
d) Snarling and howling

How much protection would you like to have? 
a) Minimum – docile and fluffy
b) Moderate – Vicious yet cuddly
c) Extreme - Invisible but deadly
d) Tremendous - Bite anyone who messes with me

What would you like to feed your new pet? 
a) Tuna and bowl of milk
b) Human emotions—fear, anger, lust, vengeance
c) Nothing
d) Chew on skeleton bones—they make a tasty snack

Where will your pet sleep? 
a) On my lap
b) Hiding in the shadows
c) Never sleeps
d) Curled up in a cozy cave

What type of toys would your pet like most? 
a) Mice and squeaky toys
b) Stuffed dinosaurs or dragons
c) Chase balls and fetch newspapers
d) None. Does not play well with others

If you answered... 

Mostly a's: Your pet is a cat! Witch’s has used familiars for years to help increase the power of their spells. Cute and helpful!
Mostly b's: Your pet would be a Shade! These affectionate creatures are a cross between a puppy and a dragon. Small but fierce!
Mostly c's: Your supernatural pet is a ghost dog! These creatures are often dubbed hellhounds, too, and they are vicious animals. Muscular and opaque!
Mostly d's: Your pet is a ferocious lycan! These were-creatures make impressive guard dogs. Clever and scary!

Places you can cyberstalk Sherry Soule: 
Twitter @WriterSherry: http://twitter.com/writersherry



BUY IMMORTAL ECLIPSE: 
Hope you enjoyed this post. If you haven’t seized your copy of IMMORTAL ECLIPSE yet, please do so. Chilling and steamy escapades await you!

Immortal Eclipse eBook Giveaway: 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

May 1, 2013

April 2013 Wrap-Up

April was a very slow month for my reading. I had all this homework to do and I kind of got a bit behind. I only read two books and start two more. I just hope May will be better.

Books I read:
Click on the images for the reviews.

The good part is that EDEN-SOUTH was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G. And Call of the Vampire turn out to be really great too.

Books I am currently reading:

Both books are pretty great so far. I was very excited for both of them, especially A Shade of Blood, since I  loved A Shade of Vampire.

Books I will read next month:

There was supposed to be a guest post and giveaway with Sherry Soule this Monday, but I got a bit side tracked and didn't do the post. But it will be up tomorrow, so make sure to visit me again.

These are all review books that I have to read next month. Hopefully I will manage to read something else too. Probably another R.L. Stine Cheerleaders books.

Leave me links to your Wrap-Up posts.