Jan 28, 2013

Review Copy Cleanup 3.0 – Sign Up

Review Copy Cleanup is an month long event hosted by Celine @ Nyx Book Reviews & Vicky @ Books, Biscuits & Tea.

  • Review Copy Cleanup 3.0 runs from 1 to 28 February
  • It starts and ends at midnight in your local timezone to avoid confusion
  • To sign up, just fill in the linky below. Link to your sign up post directly, please! The linky is the same for both our blogs, so you only have to sign up once.
  • The Linky will close on the 15th, so make you sign up before then.
  • When you post your sign up post on your blog, either include the challenge button with your post or link it back to this article so that people know where to sign up. Thanks! (:
  • Every book you received for review counts towards the challenge, both e-books and hard copies (even audio books for review if you have those), including all genres and lengths.
  • Feel free to use the #RCCleanup hashtag on Twitter for your RCC related tweets or join the Twitter party at http://tweetchat.com/room/RCCleanup and meet lots of awesome bloggers (:
  • At the end of every week we will post our personal updates, and we’ll include a linky for you to add yours!
It's the first time I will be participating in the review copy cleanup, but I am very excited. My review pile needs to get smaller.
If you want to sign up too click on the banner.

Fire & Ice Week One

Today is the first day of the Fire & Ice event that I am co-hosting. This week Heidi @ Rainy Day Ramblings will be your host. Go visit her blog to learn what giveaways/guest post/interviews are happening. Every day there will be more great authors and amazing books. Be sure to check every stop.

Jan 24, 2013

Eve Eden vs. the Zombie Horde (Bedeviled #1) by Suz Korb

Let me begin by saying I had high expectations from this book and who wouldn't. Great title and blurb. I hoped it be funny, action packed and basically filled with zombies. And in some parts it was.

This is not your typical ya book. From the very beginning till the end a million things happen. Eve gets abducted by a vampire, then she goes through hell, literally, and then faces a zombie horde. I loved the fact that the book didn't slow down at all. But even though all these things happen they seem a bit random and confusing. Especially the hell part, it reminded me of Alice in Wonderland, where everything was so random and weird, just with burning souls and stuff. And through all this action parts we didn't really get to know the characters that well. Not even Eve. And it's a first person narrative.

The one part on which this book didn't let me down was the funny part. There were so many situations that made me laugh out loud. And it made it a very fast and enjoyable read, even though half of the time I had no idea what was going on.

book 3

Jan 20, 2013

Unpack This [Jan.14 -Jan.20]

Unpack This is a meme I started instead of my usual IMM. It was inspired by my love to open boxes, yes I love doing that.

So, I didn't have an Unpack This post last week, cause everything is going crazy in my life right now. Like I mentioned before, I got a puppy. It wasn't really planned and I never had a dog before, but it was a beautiful stray I found and just couldn't help myself. So now, I am figuring out how to fit my life with hers and it just takes a lot of time, but I am getting better at it.

Here is Betty in case you are curious.

Anyways, now on to the books.

Physical Books:
Sealed with a Curse: From the first time I saw the blurb of this book I wanted to read it. I know it's something I will definitely enjoy. I love books that are about sisters!
Dead is the New Black: I found out about this one from a review, I can't remember which one, but this is also about sisters and it has mystery in it too. So, yes and yes!
Meet me Under the Mistletoe: After reading Abby Clements Christmas short, I knew I had to get this one too.
The Splendour Falls: This is going to be my second book Clement-Moore, first one I read is Texas Gothic and even though it wasn't perfect she has a great way of bringing creepy into the room.
Tithe: Another Holly Black book that took me forever to get.
This is Not a Test: I actually won this one on a giveaway and I am super excited about it cause I love zombie stories and couldn't wait to get it.
Prom Dates from Hell: Another Clement-Moore book. You can see I decided to give all her books a chance.

Keegan's Chronicles: This is all three of the series books in one volume and...it was free on amazon so I grabbed it.
Exposing ELE: Book #3 in the ELE series. I got this from the authors. I can't wait to read the second book and then this one. The story is pretty awesome. Oh, and if you are interested the first book Project ELE is free everywhere.
Recalled: Cambria Hebert's new series will be out Feb. 15th and I got a review copy of the first book. Yay!!! Can't wait to read it.
A Shade of Vampire: I got this for review too. I sounds really interesting.

The last three ebooks are going to be featured in some of my post in the Fire & Ice hop. You can still join in the fun. Just follow click on the picture bellow and learn how.

What did you Unpack this week?

Jan 14, 2013

Bout of Books 6.0 Wrap Up

Bout of Books 6.0 is finally over. I have to admit that a lot of things in my life were happening while I was participating, so it was a complete failure. Still, I got to finish one book and start another one and.... I got a dog!

So, what goals did I reach? None... hehe...

Total number of pages I've read: 258
Reviews: Significance

I managed to finish Significance and than started Eve Eden vs The Zombie Horde, which is a very entertaining read so far and I think I am going to love it.

And, that's all! I didn't get much reading done but still I focused on my homework and projects and got a dog, whom I share with two of my friends who live downstairs!!!

Leave me a comment with your wrap up links.

Jan 11, 2013

Significance (Significance, #1) by Shelly Crane

I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Significance is the story of Caleb and Maggie, too soul mates that after a twist of luck find each other and their souls get connected. Caleb's family members are called Aces, people who can find their soul mates and then Ascend, get supernatural powers. But there hasn't been an imprint for a long time and now Caleb found Maggie. It's impossible for the two of them to stay apart, painful even. Maggie immediately finds herself in the middle of Caleb's weird but loving family and discovers all his secrets.

This book is what in my mind I have as emotional reads. The story is mainly about the two protagonists and the time the spend together, getting closer. There is much emotion and evolution in their relationship but not that much action, like Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater. The one problem with those kind of books is that it takes me a while to get through. Still this book was pretty great and there was some action after the first half.

Also, while reading it I found out that there are plans for a movie, which is a great thing :)

book 2

Cover Reveal: Eden-South by Janelle Stalder

Today there is another reveal for you guys. The third book of the Eden Series will be out this March and finally there is a cover. Here it is.

The betrayal that tore a family apart. Two brothers bent on destroying the other. A whole world on the brink of war.

Aiden has been through his second battle in the magical world of Eden. The victory is short lived and Aiden is sent racing toward his friends in the Capital. After being back in Eden with the Riders, he is eager to reunite with Wolf, Elisa and Logan, although he doesn’t realize just what he’s returning to. Surprises await him when he arrives in the Capital; his close-knit group of friends is slowly falling apart. On top of it all, another battle is just around the corner, one that will change everything.

Rain has made her choice, and now she is in some unknown fortress with the feared sorcerer, Aziz. She wants nothing more but to please him, but being his Queen isn’t as easy as she thought. While trying to learn sorcery, and dealing with Aziz’s advances, Rain is finding her new life a bit overwhelming. Just when she thought it couldn’t get worse, she discovers a secret of Aziz’s, and it is nothing she could have expected.

Rose has supported Callum throughout their journey, but now that the final battle is just around the corner she is faced with a hard reality. Everything she has gained with him could be taken away. Is she willing to live the rest of her life without him? Can she just stand by while he destroys everything, including himself? Will he ever be able to find peace? Will she?

In the third installment of the Eden Series fates will be decided, and the battle between brothers that has been a decade in the making will finally come to an end. Only one of them can be High King.

The battle starts now.

It fits the other two perfectly.
I love this series it's truly amazing and I think everyone should give this series a go. Especially fans of fantasy.

Jan 6, 2013

Unpack This [Dec.31 - Jan.6]

Unpack This is a meme I started instead of my usual IMM. It was inspired by my love to open boxes, yes I love doing that.

This was a very slow week for me cause I am still at my hometown and I don't order any books here. But I am sure once I am back home they will be waiting for me to unpack them.

The only book I got this week is Opal Fire, it was in the Kindle daily offers a few days ago and I have been very curious about it ever since I read the blurb on goodreads.

What did you Unpack this week?

Jan 5, 2013

Cover Reveal: Recalled by Cambria Hebert

Recalled is the first book in a new series by the amazing Cambria Hebert. The books are stand alones but just follow the same concept and some characters may appear in more than one of the. What's the series you ask? Death Escorts. That can pretty much give away what these books will be about. So, now it's time for the amazing cover of the first book, Recalled.

Recalled (Death Escorts, #1)
by Cambria Hebert
(Pub Date: February 15th 2013)

Love or Death? A simple question really. The choice seems obvious. But. What if you never knew love, what if your life was spent just trying to survive? What if you knew your fate before you were fully grown?

And then you died.

And you were given another chance. A better chance.

This new life depended upon one thing: your job. And so you agreed. You thought it would be simple. You thought it would be cut and dry.

It never is.

And now you are left holding the fate of someone else in the palm of your hand and you have to make the ultimate choice.

Love or Death?

So what do you think of the cover and the blurb? I know I love all this purple and the guy coming our of the smoke.

Jan 2, 2013

Bout of Books 6.0

Bout of Books Read-a-Thon
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 7th and runs through Sunday, January 13th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 6.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.
~From the Bout of Books 6.0 Team 

Scientific Discovery - The Book Barbies

Tuesday 1/8
Guess the Cover - Never Too fond of Books
Favorite/Funniest Cover - Ms. Buff's Blog

Wednesday 1/9
Page 48 Challenge - Booking In Heels

Thursday 1/10
Book Spine Poetry - Escape Through the Pages
Vampires in Popular Fiction - The One with Rachel's Book

Friday 1/11
Rewrite the Synopsis - A Daydreamer's Thoughts

Saturday 1/12
Name Your Book Crack - Bookgoonie
Bookish Dress Up - Nyx Book Reviews 

Sunday 1/13
The New Year Resolution Challenge - Ex Libris

Twitter Chats
(chats last approximately one hour)
TZC = Time Zone Conversion 

Monday: 1pm CST (TZC)
Wednesday: 8pm CST (TZC)
Saturday: 10am CST (TZC)

My Goals/TBR List
My Goals
For this Bout of Books Read-a-Thon I want to surpass last read-a-thons results. I want to finally reach the 1000 pages goal in a week, that I never seem to manage.
Also I will be participating in the challanges daily and visiting other bloggers' boutofbooks updates to leave some comment love.

The Books
I hope that I will read at least 3 or 4 of them

Which of the books I read today: 
Number of pages I read today: 100
Total number of books I’ve finished: 0
Total number of pages I've read: 100
Reviews: -
Comments: I though I would have finished Significance before the read-a-thon, but I didn't so now it's on the list of books I am reading.

Which of the books I read today: -
Number of pages I read today: 0
Total number of books I’ve finished: 0
Total number of pages I've read: 100
Reviews: -
Comments: I didn't get any reading done cause it was my last day at my hometown and I had to say goodbye to my friends and family and spent time with them and get ready for my flight on the 9th (today). I hope I'll get some reading done on the plane.

Which of the books I read today: Significance
Number of pages I read today: 60
Total number of books I’ve finished: 0
Total number of pages I've read: 160
Reviews: -
Comments:  It's pretty obvious that things didn't work out as I expected for this read-a-thon. I am in the middle of my exams and had to come back home since I left for X-mas, so it is and it's going to be a very busy day. But I am not giving up yet, I will keep on reading as much as I can.

Which of the books I read today: Significance
Number of pages I read today: 45
Total number of books I’ve finished: 1
Total number of pages I've read: 205
Reviews: -
Comments: I finally finished the first book and I really enjoyed it. Now I am ready to move to the next one.

Which of the books I read today: Eve Eden vs The Zombie Horde
Number of pages I read today: 22
Total number of books I’ve finished: 1
Total number of pages I've read: 227
Reviews: Significance
Comments: I started my second book last night. Couldn't read much cause I was exhausted but I really like it so far. I just hope I can finish it in the next couple of days.

Which of the books I read today: Eve Eden vs The Zombie Horde
Number of pages I read today: 31
Total number of books I’ve finished: 1
Total number of pages I've read: 258
Reviews: Significance
Comments: We found a Jack Russell at our building and we (my two friends and I) decided to keep her so she is kind of taking all of my time and I can't really read anything so... yeah, that's it.

Which of the books I read today: -
Number of pages I read today: -
Total number of books I’ve finished: 1
Total number of pages I've read: 258
Reviews: Significance

ELE Series Giveaway

I am starting off the year with some exciting (at least to me) news. I joined the Project ELE Street Team. So I decided to start my Street Team life with a giveaway of the whole ELE Series to one lucky winner. Well, the first book is actually free everywhere so all of you can grab it.

Need more info on Project ELE? Here's my review:
FREE: Amazon | Smashwords | B&N | Kobo

Willow and her family have been waiting on line to get inside a shelter that will protect them from the high sun temperatures and a virus that killed thousands. When their numbers are finally called they have to pass some tests before getting inside and not all of them manage to. With her family being torn apart and everything quickly changing around her, Willow has no choice but to adapt fast at her new surrounding, her new friends, her new life. With the help of her friends she will discover a secret cave inside the shelter, a cave that seems to give them powers. In the search for tha truth they will face dangers they never expected and once again their lifes will be changed forever.

Willow was a worthy companion through out this story. She was stubborn, loyal and most impoetantly curious. I love it when characters act all Nacny Drew. Then there is Alec, the love interest, he is perfect boyfriend material. He was sweet and caring and had green eyes, what more do you need to love him? Connor and Claire were the two best friends. Connor I loved, he was funny and could always lighten the mood. Claire on the other hand not so much. She seemed a bit bipolar to me. She started out quiet and shy and then ended up having a few not so Claire like moments. I get that she may grow but she made a few 180 turns in the book.

Another thing I enjoyed about this book is the life inside the shelter. Don't get me wrong I wouldn't want to live there because even though it was better than outside it was still a prison. A very high tech, luxurious prison, but a prison nonetheless. I loved the Runner job Willow and her friends had and the tablet that you always had to carry with you, the assemblies and the crazy Doctor in charge of everything.

This story was a great start to the series and had a killer, cliffhanger for an ending. Despite some editing mistakes I spotted it was great. Also even though it's Dystopian it wasn't that hardcore as I am used to by other Dystopian books. All in all I can't wait for the next one.


Giveaway Time
One lucky winner will get the whole ELE Series.
These are e-books and I will probably get Smashword codes for the winner to pick them himself.
Open Internationally.

a Rafflecopter giveaway